Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Collection Development for Biology in the Boston College Libraries

:

Scope and Collecting Emphases

Criteria for collecting and maintaining materials in the subject area of Biology, with links to general library collection policies.

Guide to the Biology Collections

This collection serves the needs of the Boston College Biology Department, as well as biology-related needs of researchers and students and collection needs in the biological sciences from the Woods College of Advancing Studies and other disciplines. The Biology Bibliographer selects materials based on user requests, curricular needs and knowledge of the discipline. The bibliographer collaborates with the faculty library liaison appointed by the department and acts on purchase requests by faculty and graduate students whenever possible.

Disciplinary Scope and Collecting Emphases

This collection spans all areas of Biology, but with emphases as shown below.  

Selection favors materials from high quality scholarly publishers, regardless of country of origin or location of research.  The most important publishers in the field include Wiley, Springer, Elsevier, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press and other university presses, in addition to selective works from other publishers from around the world. 

Given the research interests of the Biology Department, the major areas of collection focus include:

  • ‚ÄčMolecular cell biology
  • Genetics
  • Neurobiology
  • Immunology
  • Bioinformatics
  • Developmental biology
  • Structural biology
  • Cellular biochemistry

Materials are also purchased to support all areas of the curriculum.

Collaborative interdisciplinary relationships are seen particularly with Nursing, Psychology and Chemistry.  Interdisciplinary work is expected to increase with creation of the Schiller Institute.