Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Business & Management Portal

:

Building the Collection

Starting Point for Business & Management Research.

John Donnelly & Sons Records

John Donnelly & Sons records, available in the Burns Library, are the business records of a well-known local outdoor advertising company. In addition to documenting the firm's business history (the Donnellys made several iconic local neon signs, including the Shell sign in Cambridge and the now-vanished Gulf sign in Kenmore Square), the records shed light on local history and politics as well as national social trends. A prominent Irish Catholic Boston family, the Donnellys knew the Kennedys - the collection includes a photo of Edward C. Donnelly Jr., at the beach with Jack and Joe at the Donnelly's summer place in Cohasset - and Edward C. Donnelly Jr. was a staff member for former Boston mayor James Michael Curley, whose daughter Edward later married. Their wide range of acquaintances, charitable activities, and political interests are recorded in the collection's many scrapbooks, which also detail the fascinating history of advertising.

Acquisition of E-books

The Library currently purchases books on business and management topics in electronic format whenever possible. Price and/or other restrictions sometimes preclude the purchase of the electronic version of a book in which case the print is acquired.

For more information on the Library’s e-book selection, see Selection Criteria and the E-Books at Boston College guide. The Library is conscious that the e-book industry is rapidly changing and, as a result, that our policies and selection criteria regarding e-books will inevitably evolve. The Library is interested in your views on e-books, and especially your usage of them. Please send any feedback to Sonia Ensins - sonia.ensins@bc.edu

Collection Emphases

The primary purpose of the collection is to  support the research and teaching needs of faculty and students in the Wallace E. Carroll School of Management as well as the university community as a whole in the areas of business and management.

Special subject strengths include: accounting, business ethics, business law, statistics, economics, financial management and services, investment analysis, management information systems, industrial relations, marketing, operational management, organizational behavior, small business management and strategic analysis.

The collection emphasizes business practices in the United States as well as the growing global aspects of business. Focus is on current literature in the English language.

The Wallace E. Carroll School of Management offers graduate programs leading to an M.B.A., an M.S. in Finance, and a M.S. in Accounting. The school also offers a Ph.D. in Accounting, Finance and Organizational Studies along with multiple dual degree programs. CSOM supports several research centers and forums including: The Center for Retirement Research, Center for Corporate Citizenship, Winston Center for Leadership and Ethics, Center for Work and FamilyLynch Leadership AcademyThe Shea Center for Entrepreneurship, and the  Corcoran Center for Real Estate and Urban Action.

More on Collections

For information about how the library collections at Boston College are being developed, go to the Collections page.

Help Us Build the Collections

Please feel free to recommend items for the library collections by e-mailing Sonia Ensins.