Managing students for teachers, administrators, and schools to create a productive environment is a practiced skill. PBIS, SEL , and Restorative Justice are all topics to help create a productive learning environment.
The emotional and behavioral problems of students in the classroom are a major concern for teachers, parents, and administrators. Fifty years of scientific research supports the efficacy of behavioral interventions in the classroom, yet school psychologists and teachers are often unaware of this evidence or of how to apply it. As diagnoses of autism spectrum. This book provides school psychologists, counselors, social workers, school administrators, and teachers with the primary, secondary, and tertiary intervention and prevention strategies they need to succeed in today's classroom.
Call Number: Educational Resource Center Stacks LB1060.2 .B34 2019
Publication Date: 2019-03-07
PBIS (positive behavior interventions and supports) is the most important tool educators have to deal with disruptive student behaviors. This revised and updated handbook provides detailed guidelines for implementing and sustaining PBIS for schools and teams. New in this edition is a chapter addressing inequity and bias in behavior referrals and discipline; a tiered fidelity inventory (TFI) to evaluate adherence to PBIS practices; different methods of data collection; and new research on sustainability. Positive school climates are not achieved through expulsions, suspensions, or detentions, but instead through collective analysis and data-driven decision-making.
The newest offering in the highly successful Positive Discipline series, this is a teacher's compendium of the most important tools to foster hands-on learning and cooperation within the classroom, complete with the most up-to-date research on the Positive Discipline method. The Positive Discipline method has proved to be an invaluable resource for teachers who want to foster creative problem-solving within their students, giving them the behavioral skills they need to understand and process what they learn.
Call Number: Educational Resource Center Stacks LB3013 .S43 2019
Publication Date: 2019-02-15
Middle school students are at an age when it's natural to test limits and try out aspects of adulthood. However,they still need (and crave!) the presence of caring adults who can help them develop healthy identities, relationships, and behaviors. This book shows educators how to tap into young adolescents' desire for autonomy in order to help them become self-motivated to behave in productive and positive ways--to benefit themselves, their peers, and the greater school community.
One of the biggest challenges teachers face is managing their classrooms on a day-to-day basis, and in the eyes of the general public, classroom management ranks as one of the most serious educational problems. NQTs consistently identify it as their most pressing concern during their early teaching years. Laura Pinto′s From Discipline to Culturally Responsive Engagement: 45 Classroom Management Strategies provides a strategic plan to address this problem in an engaging and easy-to-implement way. Starting off with explanations on the foundations of classroom management , Pinto discusses the need for culturally responsive practice in classroom settings that are increasingly diverse. She then guides teachers through the self-reflective process of creating their own classroom management style and provides them with a wealth of practical classroom management strategies for immediate use in the classroom.
Call Number: Educational Resource Center Stacks LC4717.8 .K89 2011
Publication Date: 2011-06-13
The "Zones" concept and learning activites help children and adults manage their emotions and sensory needs while also addressing executive functioning skills and "Social Thinking" concepts. The "Zones" teaches students and clients how to identify their levels of arousal and/or sensory need, which calming strategies work for them. The "Zones" strategies are applicable to elementary regular education and all levels of special education students (early childhood through high school depending on congnitive abilities and maturity level).
Call Number: Educational Resource Center Stacks LC4802 .M34 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Designed to be used to develop goals, objectives, and educational intervention strategies for students with common learning and behavior problems. Names 250 common problems students face along with lists of actions teachers can implement to address each issue.
Call Number: Chart Educational Resource Center Stacks LB1060.2 .D526 2015
Publication Date: 2015-04-24
This reference guide by Christine Ditrano provides both school wide, as well as classroom strategies for preventing disruptive behavior and enhancing a school¿s organizational climate using Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports, or PBIS. The multi-tiered PBIS problem-solving model is proactive and flexible, and provides a unifying framework for all school improvement efforts.
Sophie Is a S. T. A. R. by Becky Bailey (Original Author)
Call Number: Educational Resource Center LB3013 .B265 2014
Call Number: Educational Resource Center Stacks LB3013 .B265 2014
Publication Date: 2015-03-04
Conscious Discipline: Building Resilient Classrooms introduces a revolutionary classroom approach to Social & Emotional Learning (SEL) by addressing the adult’s mindset and skill set first, and then empowering adults to effectively teach life-changing SEL skills to children. Educators and caregivers learn how to build equitable classrooms and schools that emphasize safety and connection, providing an optimal learning environment for every child. Within this climate of safety, trust and cooperation, everyday interactions and conflicts become meaningful SEL learning opportunities!
Handbook of Behavioral Interventions in Schools is a comprehensive collection of evidence-based strategies for addressing student behavior in the classroom and other school settings. Experts in the fields of special education and school psychology provide practical guidance on over twenty behavior interventions that can be used to promote appropriate student behavior. Framed within a multi-tiered system of support, a framework representing one of the predominant service delivery models in schools, interventions are categorized as Tier I, Tier II, or Tier III, and chapters provide insight into how students might be placed in and moved through respective levels of service intensity.
Controlling Our Children: Hegemony and Deconstructing the Positive Behavioral Intervention Support Model represents the first steps in a protest movement. It is a microscopic look into a system that educators take for granted as a positive force for children. IControlling Our Children is perfect for pre-service teachers learning how to manage a classroom that fosters autonomy and an internal locus of control. It is also a perfect book for a graduate-level course in discipline discourse or disability studies.
Call Number: Educational Resource Center Stacks LB1060.2 .D53 2015
Publication Date: 2015-06-11
Harness the proactive power of PBIS to improve student behaviorThe Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports (PBIS) Champion Model is a breakthrough alternative that has enabled schools to reduce disciplinary incidents by 50% or more. This research-based, action-oriented framework will show you how to create a school culture where all students achieve both social and academic success.
Call Number: Educational Resource Center Stacks LB1060.2 .D55 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-07
This book includes practical examples, case scenarios, and rubrics for identifying current states of implementation and filling in gaps based on recommended actions and examples. It can also be utilized in teacher, support services, and administrator preparation programs and for training and consulting purposes for current educators/administrators.
Call Number: Educational Resource Center Stacks LB3013 .G37 2014
Publication Date: 2014-08-08
This user-friendly resource will help K-12 teachers become more effective classroom managers. Tracey Garrett provides a new perspective that has been well received by thousands of preservice, novice, and veteran teachers. Each chapter of the book concentrates on a key area (physical design, rules and routines, relationships, engaging instruction, and discipline) and focuses on the importance of that particular area in relation to a teacher's overall classroom management plan.
Call Number: Educational Resource Center Stacks LB3013.3 .D738 2017
Publication Date: 2017-03-10
Create a Culture of Kindness in Middle School focuses on positive attitudes and behaviors that build a respectful and compassionate school environment, while also addressing tough issues of prejudice, anger, and bullying. Through role-playing, discussion, writing, and more, students develop skills to accept differences, resolve conflict, stand up to bullying, and create a community of kindness. Based on survey data the authors gathered from over 1,000 students, the book's research-based lessons are easy to implement and developmentally appropriate. Digital content includes student handouts from the book.
Call Number: Educational Resource Center Stacks LB3013.3 .S65 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-12
When there's a nuclear meltdown happening in your classroom, you don't have a second to think. This book is your trusted guide on what to do in the heat of the moment, and how you can decrease the chances of incidents happening in the first place. Its field-tested strategies integrate principles of behavioural intervention with the best practices of positive psychology -- a fresh, effective response that respects the tough realities you face everyday. Happy Kids takes a student-centered approach to behaviour, emphasizing optimism and student happiness without sugarcoating the realities of managing your students. Inside you'll find: ready-to-use tools and guidelines; practical guidance developed from the author's extensive experience training educators; solutions that work now and support each student's future well-being; a deliberate focus at the classroom, building, and system level. Whether you're a teacher, school counsellor, psychologist, or administrator, Happy Kids has the guidance you need to manage behaviour, ensure safety for all, and bring peace back to the classroom and school.