Skip to Main Content
Chat With Us

Government Information

:

U.S. Federal Government Depository

This guide describes BC's status in the Federal Depository Library Program and introduces major federal government document resources.

U.S. Federal Government Depository Library

BC Libraries is a member of the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP), which is a partnership between the Government Publishing Office (GPO) and  Congressionally designated libraries around the United States.   BC provides access to government publications for both the university community and the constituents of the 4th Congressional District. Public access to the Government Documents collection is guaranteed by law.

Access to the majority of the Government Documents collection is online.  This page highlights some of the core subscription and public Government Document databases and links to research guides that provide more detailed information on particular types of government resources.

CIS Microfiche Library

  • Comprehensive coverage of congressional publications from 1985-2007 (BC Law Library has fiche holdings from 1970-present); also some historical material
  • ProQuest Congressional database may be used as an index to the fiche holdings

At O'Neill Library

  • Congressional Record (1983-present)
    • O'Neill Gov Docs Fiche X1.1
  • Film Holdings
    • Debates and Proceedings of the Congress of the United States (1789-1824)
      • O'Neill Microforms J11. A5
    • Register of Debates in Congress (1824-1836)
      • O'Neill Microforms J11.D5
    • Congressional Globe (1833-1873)
      • O'Neill Microforms J11.R5
    • Congressional Record (1873-1982)
      • O'Neill Microforms J11.R5
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​CIS Index; O'Neill Microfiche KF49.C65 - Use the Index to search for titles, subjects, names, etc. The Index will provide the CIS accessional number for locating the corresponding full text in the CIS fiche library:
    • CIS "Complete" Fiche Library (1985-2007; Law Library holdings run from 1970-present)

American State Papers - Fiche and Stacks Holdings

  • CIS Serial Set Fiche Library. O'Neill Microfiche KF49.C65. The ASP are found at the beginning of the collection.
  • Indexed by CIS U.S. Serial Set Index. Gov Docs Ref KF49.C65 index.

BOUND VOLUMES

  • O'Neill Stacks J33 .A5. Volumes are selective and do not circulate.

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the CRS

  • O'Neill Microfilm JK1108.M3x suppl. 1916 - present
  • O'Neill Index Area JK1108.M3 suppl. Cumulative Index (2 vol.); 1916-1989
    • Bibliography and Indexes (1 vol./year); 1990-2007
    • Missing years 2000-2001

Internet Archive

Internet Archive/Open Content Alliance: In collaboration with the Boston Public Library,  the Internet Archive is digitizing various government documents. Collection includes full text hearings from the 91st Congress (1970) to present. Also includes the House Un-American Activities Committee Hearings. 

CBO Reports

Many CBO Reports can be found by searching the Library Catalog.

  • Go to the Advanced Search
  • Search for "Congressional Budget Office" in the first box (Anywhere in record as the field)
  • AND Search for a keyword you are interested in, for example "health" in the second box
  • The catalog will link you to available online files