Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Law (O'Neill Collection) Portal

:

Building the Collection

Starting Point for Legal Research for the General BC Community. Law School students may want to go directly to the Law School Library homepage.

Scales of Justice

Collection Emphases

The Law collection in O’Neill Library consists of resources acquired to support teaching and research in the Political Science Department in the College of Arts and Science and the Business Law Department in the Carroll School of Management. These resources include primarily monographs, serials, and databases.  Visit the Political Science Collection and the Business and Management Collection pages for more information. All faculty and students have access to many legal materials through the Law Library. These include access to many print publications such as monographs, treatises and serials and to some, but not all, electronic resources.  View the collection description statement of the Boston College Law Library for more information.   

Acquisition Highlights

  • CQ Supreme Court Collection
    The database has historical analysis and expert commentary about Supreme Court decisions, justices and institutional history and about the U.S. Constitution.  The collection includes summaries and analysis of more than four thousand major decisions; a Supreme Court Encyclopedia; and analysis and comparison of constitutions from a hundred nations.  
  • Gale Encyclopedia of American Law
    The encyclopedia provides informaton on leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law and more. 

More on Collections

For information about how the library collections at Boston College are being developed, go to the Collections page.

Help Us Build the Collections

Please feel free to recommend items for the library collections by e-mailing Sonia Ensins.