Alternate Name(s)
Ethnicity and Culture Magazine Archive
Trial through 12/17/2024
This collection contains the backfiles of over 30 magazines from the 20th to the 21st century, each aimed at ethnically specific audiences. It complements traditional scholarly resources by offering a rich primary source archive of largely untapped publications from communities including African American, Latinx, Asian, and indigenous, as well as publications reflecting the European immigration to the U.S. from the 19th century forward
Trial through 10/29/2024
Through a broad range of sources, from journals and memoirs to ships’ logs and court records, Life at Sea relates experiences and personal narratives of Anglo-American seafarers from 1600-1900, sourced from museums and archives in the UK and US.
Please send feedback to Steve Runge
Trial through 10/29/2024
The resource, sourced from archives and museums throughout the UK and Ireland, brings together diaries and oral histories about the lives of hundreds of individuals from diverse backgrounds, from abolitionists to suffragists, and royalty to republicans. Narratives include subjects such as domestic life, travel, sport, feminism, gender fluidity, and voices representing working class, LGBTQ+, and disabled women.
Please send feedback to Steve Runge
World Events and the Media provides insights into journalism's evolution and its pivotal role in shaping our perception and understanding of world events. Through firsthand accounts, memoirs, and archival records, this collection offers insights into investigative journalism, crisis reporting, war coverage, social movements, and the impact of technological advancements on media, shedding light on the transformative shifts within the profession both during and after critical historical events.
