Citations & AbstractsCitations & Abstracts OnlineCitations & Abstracts w/selected Full TextFull Text

Home

      
     Search:
   

 
About This Guide

The Guide is meant to help identify materials for basic and advanced research in philosophy. In many sections, the titles listed are only a sample of the types of resources that may be consulted.

See Bynagle and other titles in the Guides section at right for more resources. Additional information and guidance is available from the Subject Specialist for Philosophy, Jonas Barciauskas.

 
 

 
Guides & Bibliographies

Barth, Else M. Women Philosophers: A Bibliography of Books through 1990. Bowling Green, OH: Philosophy Documentation Center, 1992. (Ref B72.B34x 1992)
Preliminary sections include directories, guide books, handbooks, and journals (co-)edited by women. Main section uses standard headings for sub-fileds and topics in philosophy; e.g., anthropology, epistemology, metaphysics. etc.
Bell, Albert A., Jr., and Allis, James B. Resources in Ancient Philosophy: An Annotated Bibliography of Scholarship in English, 1965-1989. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1991. (Ref B171.B39x 1991)
Books and articles covering philosophy from Thales to Augustine.
Bynagle, Hans E. Philosophy: A Guide to the Reference Literature. 2nd ed. Littleton, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1997. (Ref Z7125.B97 1997)
A good first step for beginners and advanced researchers.

Contemporary Philosophy of Mind: An Annotated Bibliography.
A comprehensive resource containing (as of November 12, 2005) over 8,100 entries for books and articles on the philosophy of mind, philosophy of cognitive science, and philosophy of artificial intelligence.

Risse, Wilhelm. Bibliographia philosophica vetus: repertorium generale systematicum operum philosophicorum usque ad annum MDCCC typis impressorum. 11 v. Hildesheim ; New York : G. Olms Verlag, 1998. (O'Neill Stacks B798.L3 R57 1998)
A bibliographical inventory of all philosophical disciplines from the invention of book-printing to the year 1800 published shortly before Risse's death.

Ruben, Douglas H. Philosophy Journals and Serials: An Analytical Guide. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1985. (O’Neill Stacks B72 .R73 1985)
Annotated, with geographic and subject indexes. Includes data for identifying potential article publishers which may be updated with information from Directory of American Philosophers and International Directory of Philosophy and Philosophers (see the Directories section below).
World Philosophy: A Contemporary Bibliography. John R. Burr, ed. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1993. (Ref B801.W87x 1993)
Supplement meant to update Handbook of World Philosophy (1980; Ref B804.A1 H36). Gives a "representative sample of the books and monographs in philosophy published in philosophy since 1976." Organized by country of publication.

 
 

Subject Librarian

Jonas Barciauskas

Contact Info:
O'Neill 406
Email Me
View My Other Guides

My Subjects:
Classical Studies, German Studies, Philosophy, Theology

 
Print This Page
Print Entire Guide



Description

  Loading content... please wait