Skip to main content

Open Access and Scholarly Publishing


Open Access Week 2016

International Open Access Week

oa lock logoInternational Open Access Week, a global event in its ninth year, promotes the free, immediate, online access to the results of scholarly research, and the right to use and re-use those results. This year's theme for OA Week (October 24-30) is Open in Action. The theme highlights those who have made a commitment to working in the open. This page highights collaborative OA initiatives underway at BC.

Events in #OpenOctober:

October 13: ETD@BC, 2:30. This workshop is for graduate students preparing to submit electronic theses and dissertations. O'Neill 307. Register.

October 17: Coffee & Code, 1-2:00: Get Familiar with the Hathi Trust Research Center Portal. Workshop to learn how to search, collect, analyze, and visualize the full text of nearly 3 million public domain works. Register.

October 17-31: Open Educational Resources. Hands-on display of open textbooks, free online from OpenStax. O'Neill Library lobby.

October 18: Workshop, 9-12. Workshop for increasing openness and reproducibility in quantitative research, hosted by the Center for Open Science and sponsored by the Psychology Department. Open to faculty, staff and students. Register.

October 24: The Internet's Own Boy, 5:30. Film, discussion and pizza.  Discuss the legal and ethical issues presented by the activism and indictment of Aaron Swartz. Stokes Hall 195 S Auditorium. Let us know you are coming.

October 28: Coffee & Code: Mapping Your Data, 12-1. Workshop to learn the basics of using geographic data to create a visualization (map) with Carto (aka CartoDB), an open web-based mapping and analysis tool. Register.

Faculty Support for OA

Learn more about our Open Access Fund.

Boston College Dataverse

BC Dataverse logo

The Boston College Dataverse is an open access data repository that consists of datasets produced by the Boston College community and available for public access and re-use. Each dataset includes citation information and a Digital Object Identifier (DOI), facilitating attribution, usage tracking and linking of data to research publications. Boston College Dataverse can play an important role in fulfilling Data Management Plan requirements by funding agencies and can provide for data re-use and archiving.This archive is supported by the Boston College Libraries and hosted by the Harvard Dataverse Network.

General policies for the Boston College Dataverse are available here. For further information on using the Dataverse, please consult our Quick Start Guide or contact us at

Open Educational Resources

statistics textbook coverOpen Educational Resources or OER are one way to bring down the cost of courses. There are many high-quality peer-reviewed resources online that can be used and adapted. They can also be bought for reasonable prices in hard copy if you prefer. You can hold and examine some examples (made available by OpenStax, at Rice University) during our OER display in the O'Neill lobby, October 17-31. Please take a look at the physical books and the online versions and think about whether these texts might help keep costs down for your students.

Learn more about our Affordable Course Materials Initiative and find open access teaching materials. If you would like help making your course more affordable, your subject librarian is willing to help at any time.

Text and Data Mining

The Libraries have created a new Text and Data Mining (TDM) guide. TDM is the computational analysis of vast quantities of digital information, whether free-form natural language text or structured data. Using specialized software, researchers can extract data, identify trends, look for patterns and better understand the relationships of terms within and between documents.
The guide includes sources of open access texts available for TDM analysis, as well as some licensed to the Libraries. It also can guide you in choosing the best tools (many open source) for your purpose.

Open Digital Scholarship

The Digital Scholarship Group at the Boston College Libraries collaborated on two exciting open access projects published this Fall.

Irish music followers worldwide can now stream and download hundreds of newly-released music tracks in The Séamus Connolly Collection of Irish Music, a digital collection published by the Boston College Libraries on October 11. This exciting compilation features audio recordings of some of the best-known performers of Irish traditional instrumental music and song. With audio available via SoundCloud, the collection also offers music transcriptions and stories, and is fully compatible with mobile devices.


manuscript pageThe Digital Scholarship Group and Dr. Michael Noone introduced the  Burns Antiphoner,  an interactive open access resource. Based on a 14th-century Franciscan antiphoner, music notation, metadata, performances and textual incipits can be queried and viewed via a dynamic presentation layer. The website includes scholarly essays about the manuscript as well as videos of several performances from short sections of the manuscript by Schola Antiqua, recorded in the Primate Cathedral of  St. Mary of Toledo, Spain.

Open content in eScholarship@BC

The library continues to build its collections in eScholarship@BC by archiving and making available scholarship and research from across Boston College. This includes works by faculty members and students as well as publications from research centers on campus.

For example, a collection of fifty publications from the TIMSS & PIRLS International Study Center, which are now licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial License, were made available in eScholarship@BC in the last year.

eScholarship@BC also has added OA materials from both graduate and undergraduate students. The PDF versions of the posters presented at the Senior Thesis Poster Session, held April 8, 2016 at O'Neill Library, are accessible in the repository under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial License. In 2015-2016, 43 graduate students also opted to make their electronic thesis or dissertation available under one of the six Creative Commons licenses.

Twitter feed



Use this form for questions or comments about the BC Libraries or the website. If you have a research question you can also email or chat with a librarian.

Please fill out all required fields.