This guide describes some of the major print and electronic resources for the study of journalism, broadcasting, and new media.
- Encyclopedia of Television
(O'Neill Reference PN1992.18.E53 2004) Essays on key TV programs and personalities, genres, organizations, topics, and issues. Click on next to title for online 1999 edition.
- Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
(O'Neill Reference P87.5 .E532 2003) 4 volumes. Articles on: the media in different countries; the development and use of communication technology; and concepts (such as censorship,copyright, and libel) that regulate he content and flow of information.
- Encyclopedia of Television News
Includes more than 300 entries on "the people who built broadcast journalism, the programs for which they are best known, and the concepts and issues evolving from their efforts." Available as an e-book through NetLibrary and in the Reference Collection.
- Journalism: A Guide to the Reference Literature
(O'Neill Reference PN4731.C373 2004) This selected annotated bibliography and guide covers English language material relating to print and broadcast journalism. The guide is arranged by broad topic area and includes author, title, and subject indexes.
- International Encyclopedia of Communication
Covers communication theory and philosophy including many areas related to mass media studies. Search by topic or browse the table of contents.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
Select the category "Media" from the encyclopedia's main page for the largest group of communication-related articles, divided into six major sub-categories, including Communications Media, Effects & Audiences, Popular Culture, and Study of Mass Media.
- Encyclopedia of New Media : An Essential Reference to Communication and Technology
(O'Neill Reference QA76.575 .E5368 2003) Describes concepts, contexts, and trends in new media, covering terms, technologies, key businesses, organizations, and individuals, laws, and social issues important in the development of new media.