This is the "Home" page of the "Linguistics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

Linguistics   Tags: language, linguistics  

This guide is intended to aid students of linguistics in the Slavic and Eastern Languages Department at Boston College.
Last Updated: Jan 27, 2014 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/linguistics Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Guide

This guide is intended to aid students of linguistics in the Slavic and Eastern Languages Department at Boston College.

These selected research resources consist of books and other materials in the O'Neill Library, web resources which are restricted to the Boston College community, and unrestricted web sites.

Additional help is available from the O'Neill Library subject specialist for the Slavic and Eastern Languages Department, Nina Bogdanovsky (617-552-1058; bogdanon@bc.edu), O'Neill Library Rm 309.

Online Reference Sources

  • Blackwell Reference Online - Linguistics  Icon
    Multiple reference titles on different aspects of linguistics:
    • Applied Linguistics • Discourse Analysis • Historical Linguistics • Psycholinguistics • Language Acquisition • Sociolinguistics • Bilingualism • Language Variation and Change • Speech Science • Perception • Theoretical Linguistics • Morphology • Phonetics • Pragmatics • Semantics • Syntax
  • Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics  Icon
    The dictionary covers every aspect of linguistics, including sociolinguistics, language theory and history, language families, and major languages from all over the world
  • Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics  Icon
    Covers all aspects of Arabic languages and linguistics and deals with all levels of the language (pre-Classical Arabic, Classical Arabic, Modern Standard Arabic, Arabic vernaculars
  • Encyclopedia of Semiotics  Icon
    The Encyclopedia of Semiotics is a comprehensive reference guide to concepts in semiotics, sign theory, and cultural studies. Three hundred entries by leading scholars in a variety of fields — from anthropology and literary theory to linguistics and philosophy — survey the study of signs and symbols in human culture. These articles cover key concepts, theories, theorists, schools of thought, and issues in communications, cognition, and cultural theory.
  • Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries Online  Icon
    The Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries Online (IEDO) reconstructs the lexicon for the most important languages and language branches of Indo-European. It is a rich and voluminous online reference source for historical and general linguists. Dictionaries can be cross-searched, with an advance search for each individual dictionary enabling the user to perform more complex research queries. Each entry is accompanied by grammatical info, meaning(s), etymological commentary, reconstructions, cog
  • International Encyclopedia of Linguistics  Icon
    Comprehensive survey of the field with longer essays on large topics and short essays on subtopics. Also available in print in 4 volumes (O'Neill Reference REF P29.I58 2003)
  • Linguistic Bibliography Online  Icon
    The online edition contains all entries of the printed volumes as of 1993 and new records are added on a monthly basis.
 

Print Reference Sources

The Atlas of Languages: The Origin and Development of Languages Throughout the World. (O'Neill Reference REF P106.L67 1996)
Atlas showing language areas with the background of the peoples and cultures covered with pictures and examples of the language scripts.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language. (O'Neill Reference REF P29.C64 1997)
An illustrated encyclopedia of major language study themes with maps and charts and a bibliography.
Compendium of the World's Languages. 2nd. ed. (O'Neill Reference REF P371.C36 2000)
300-plus languages are grouped and analyzed.
A Dictionary of Language. (O'Neill Reference REF P29.C68 2001)
Terms and concepts from linguistics and related areas.
Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics. 5th ed. (O'Neill Stacks P29.C65 2003)
          Definitions include bibliographies for further reading.

Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics. 14 vols. 2nd ed.  (O'Neill Reference REF P29 .E48 2006)
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics. 3 vols.( O'Neill Reference REF P99.E65 1994)
Explains technical terms and interdisciplinary fields, and also comes with biographical information and guidance to further reading.
Encyclopedic Dictionary of the Sciences of Language. (O'Neill Stacks P29.D813)
Originally published in French in 1972. Treats language learning, the subfields of linguistics and concepts with an Index of Terms Defined.
Guide to the World's Languages. Vol. 1. Classification. (O'Neill Stacks P203.R8 1987)
Contains information on the classification of some 700 languages.
International Encyclopedia of Communications. 4vols. (O'Neill Reference REF P87.5.I5 1989)
All aspects of communication treated in a scholarly and detailed publication.
Languages of the World. (O'Neill Reference REF P371.K38 1995)
A useful survey of language families, individual languages, and countries where languages are spoken and number of people speaking them. Includes bibliography and index.
Linguistic Bibliography. 1939-2002 P121.L584
Annual bibliography providng worldwide comprehensive coverage of periodical articles, dissertations, chapters in books and conference proceedings.
Linguistics: A Guide to the Reference Literature. (O'Neill Reference REF P121.D45x 2000)
An interdisciplinary survey of reference sources in the field.
The Linguistics Encyclopedia. (O'Neill Reference REF P29.L52 2002)
Manual of Foreign Languages.... (O'Neill Reference REF Z253.U581 1952)
Information on some 130 languages and dialects with alphabets and transliterations into English, pronunciation, punctuation, grammar, numerals and calendar information.
A Student's Dictionary of Language and Linguistics. (O'Neill Reference REF P29.T69 1997)
Broad coverage with concise definitions.
World's Major Languages. (O'Neill Reference REF P371.W6 1987)
Chapters on major languages and languages families by experts, with about half being Indo-European languages.
Year's Work in Modern Language Studies. 1929- PB1.Y45
Current five years kept in reference, previous years in stacks.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Nina Bogdanovsky
Contact Info
617-552-1058
O'Neill Library 309
Boston College
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip