Local & World
This is the "Home" page of the "Finding Spatial Data for Mapping (GIS)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

Finding Spatial Data for Mapping (GIS)   Tags: census, geographic_information_systems, geography, gis, mapping, maps, spatial  

Includes spatial data sources and mapping tools and support persons. Boston College supports several Geographic Information Systems software packages on campus.
Last Updated: May 8, 2012 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/gis Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Current Articles about GIS

Full text links for the BC Community.

Support

Boston College supports the use of Geographic Information Systems (GIS) in teaching, research and administrative projects. GIS is a database management system for capture, storage, retrieval, analysis, and display of spatial data and related information.

To request a GIS class presentation or GIS consultation for a research project contact:

Barbara Mento
Email:barbara.mento@bc.edu

or

Constantin Andronache
Email: constantin.andronache@bc.edu


The GIS Team will work with faculty members to customize GIS integration into courses and support research projects. Support includes identifying GIS data, assistance in developing maps for course material, overview and demonstration of  ArcGIS software and hands on workshops for smaller groups of students.

 

3rd Annual Boston College Libraries GIS Contest


Congratulations to the Winners of the 2012 GIS Contest

 

First Prize
Austin Mason for : "A Tomb with a View:  Burial Rites and the Landscape of Anglo-Saxon Conversion".

Second Prize
Brendan Hildum for : "Arsenic Speciation and Groundwater Chemistry at Shepley's Hill Landfill, Devens, Massachusetts".

Third Prize
Jacob Anderson for: "Contamination of a Public Water Supply from Road De-Icers".

Honorable Mentions to Amanda Duggan for: " The Effects of Road Salt on the Public Drinking Water Supply of Norwell, MA" and Austin Nijhuis for : "Are Food Stamps Enough in New Orleans?"

Want to learn more about GIS? Contact Barbara Mento, Data/GIS Manager

 

News and New Books

Free Online Tutorials

Sign up for a free online tutorial from ESRI, producer of the ArcGIS software:

Getting Started with GIS (for ArcGIS 10)

Just create a free online account and go to this free 9 hour course.

Course description from website: This course provides a foundation for understanding what a geographic information system is and the possibilities it offers for discovering patterns, relationships, and trends. You will learn how GIS maps are different from other types of paper and digital maps, what makes the data used in a GIS unique, and how to use GIS software to obtain information and create meaningful maps. In interactive exercises and activities throughout the course, you will work with ArcGIS software and see how a GIS supports problem solving in many different contexts.

For  a full list of free ESRI courses go to the ESRI Training Catalog

New Book

Putting Fear of Crime on the Map:  Investigating Perceptions of Crime Using Geographic Information Systems by  Bruce J. Doran, Melissa B. Burgess.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Barbara Mento
Contact Info
O'Neill 313
617-552-3354
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip