This guide provides an overview to the resources available for gender studies.
A classic journal in the field of gender studies, the Women's Review of Books began publication in 1983 with an eye towards bringing together the much ignored but growing body of scholarship and creative writing by and about women. After a brief hiatus in early 2005 it continues to be published by the Wellesley Centers for Women at Wellesley College and Old City Publishing in PA.
It can be accessed through JSTOR for the years 1983-2007 and from Old City from 2006-present.
- Women's Studies International
Contains records for scholarly material, as well as primary documents, news sources, NGO reports, and more.
Indexes wide range of publications on issues related to gender and sexuality. Both general interest and scholarly material included.
- Women and Social Movements
Primary documents covering U.S. history and women in social movements in the U.S. between 1700 and 2000.
- Sociological Abstracts
Core database for sociology.
- Social Sciences Citation Index
Database allows you to see how many times an article has been cited but bear in mind the results are limited to the journals that are indexed in the database.
- ProQuest Sociology
Another core database with full text peer reviewed journals.
Core database in psychology.
- LGBT Life
Core database for gender and sexuality.
- Communication Abstracts/Communication&Mass Media Complete
Provides combined searching of the two major communication studies databases, including abstracts of major communication related articles, reports, and books from a variety of scholarly, trade, and professional publishers and full text from more than 200 publications.
- Vogue Archive
Entire run of Vogue magazine, U.S. edition, (1892-present), reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Includes all pages, advertisements, covers and fold-outs.