Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

Foreign Trade  Tags: trade statistics  

This guide describes major Foreign Trade datasets, both U.S. and International, focusing only on electronic formats. It also includes links to the major trade classification systems and some statistical indexes and trade policy web sites.
Last update: Oct 31st, 2008 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/foreigntrade  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Getting Started             Print Page
  
 

Classification

What is the SITC Classification?

HTS/SIC/SITC/NAICS/END USE Description Lookup
Select and Display a table of codes with descriptions.

North American Industry Classification Codes(NAICS)
Classification system used to collect government statistics.

Tariff Act of 1930. Title I, Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States (Online)
The USITC (Office of Tariff Affairs and Trade Agreements) is responsible for publishing the Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States Annotated (HTSA). The HTSA provides the applicable tariff rates and statistical categories for all merchandise imported into the United States; it is based on the international Harmonized System, the global classification system that is used to describe most world trade in goods.

U.N Statistics Division Methodology

 

Guides

When doing research on Foreign Trade it is helpful to understand definitions of frequently used terms and the various classification systems used to collection data. Below are some basic guides and descriptions of the classification schemes.

  • Concordances for Trade Statistics  
      
    On-line concordances between the Standard Industrial Trade Classification, Tariff Schedules of the US, Harmonized Schedules, Standard Industrial Classification, and International Standard Industrial Classification. Uses combinations and class dates.
  • Guide to Foreign Trade Statistics  
      
    ITC description of the Foreign Trade Statistical Program.
  • Organization of American States(OAS) Foreign Trade Information System  
      
    Text of trade and investment treaties in the Western Hemisphere. Links to trade data and trade classification systems of Organization of American States members.
  • Tradeport Country Library  
      
    General political and economic information for individual countries. Searchable data base of Market Research Reports, which analyze country sales opportunities.
  • Country Reports on Economic Policy and Trade  
      
    State Department annual reports on economic policies of individual countries beginning 1993, including basic trade data for past three years. Ceased publication, primarily historical value.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageBarbara Mento


Contact Info:
O'Neill 313
617-552-3354
Send Email

Subjects:
Economics, Computer Science, Mathematics, Data/Statistics, GIS

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait