Italian Language and Literature

Biographies

Italian Language and Literature Resources

Biographies Online

Contemporary Authors
A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields. Provides complete biographical and bibliographical references for more than 120,000 authors in the US and around the world.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Contains articles on literary authors from every era and genre. Coverage is analytic as well as biographical
Contemporary Literary Criticism Online
Contemporary Literary Criticism is an extensive collection of more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors. Each entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, a list of principal works, critical essays, and sources for further study. Updated monthly, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select allows users to search by author name, title of work, nationality, subject/genre, ethnicity, critic name, and more.
Gale Biography in Context (formerly Biography Resource Center)
Online biographical reference database in the fields of literature, science, business, entertainment, politics, sports, history, current events and the arts.Biographical information on over one million people throughout history, around the world.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors (novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers) from every age and literary discipline.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.

Bio-Bibliographic Resources in Print

Dizionario Biografico degli Italiani. Roma: Istituto della Enciclopedia italiana, 1960-

Letteratura Italiana. Gli Autori : Dizionario Bio-Bibliografico e Indici. Torino: Einaudi, c1990- (O'Neill Library PQ4037 .L457 1982 suppl. vols. 1-2.)

Biographie Universelle Ancienne et Moderne. Tome 1-[52] [et Suppl] Paris: Michaud, 1811-62. (O'Neill Reference CT145.M5)

Marotti, Maria Ornella. Italian Women Writers from the Renaissance to the Present Revising the Canon. University Park: Pennsylvania State, 1996. (O'Neill Library PQ4063.I885 1996)

Marrone, Gaetana. Encyclopedia of Italian literary studies. New York : Routledge, 2007. 2 volumes (O’Neill Library Reference PQ4006 .E536 2007)

Russell, Rinaldina. Italian Women Writers: A Bio-Bibliographical Sourcebook. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1994. (O'Neill Reference PQ4063.I88 1994)

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

Italian Language and Literature

Biographies

Biographies Online

Bio-Bibliographic Resources in Print