About the John J. Burns Library
The University’s special collections, including the University’s Archives, are housed in the Honorable John J. Burns Library. Burns Library staff members work with students and faculty to support learning and teaching at Boston College, offering access to unique primary sources through instruction sessions, exhibits, and programming. The Burns Library also serves the research needs of external scholars, hosting researchers from around the globe interested in using the collections. The Burns Library has achieved international recognition in several specific areas of research, most notably: Irish studies; British Catholic authors; Jesuitica; Fine printing; Catholic liturgy and life in America, 1925-1975; Boston history; the Caribbean, especially Jamaica; Nursing; and Congressional archives. To learn more about specific holdings in Burns, please see www.bc.edu/burns. The Burns Library’s digital collections are among the listings at www.bc.edu/digitalcollections. These materials are available for use in the Burns Library Reading Room.
Connect with the Burns Library
Share Burns Library Flickr Slideshows
Slideshows from the John J. Burns Library's Flickr can be embedded in blogs, websites, and Blackboard. You either need to be a Flickr subscriber (it's free to create an account) or to grab the embed code from here. Please contact the Burns Library staff if you have trouble getting the code you need.
All images on our Flickr are from collections held by the John J. Burns Library or of our work with those collections.
- Bobbie Hanvey: Bombs & Violence
- Bobbie Hanvey: Ordinary Life During the Troubles
- Bobbie Hanvey: Politics & Politicians
- Bobbie Hanvey: Religious Leaders & Activities
- Bobbie Hanvey: Royal Ulster Constabulary / Police Services of N. Ireland
- Bobbie Hanvey: Seamus Heaney
- Bobbie Hanvey: Singers & Other Entertainers
- Bobbie Hanvey: The Security Forces
- Bobbie Hanvey: The Travelling People
- Bobbie Hanvey: Writers, Poets, Journalists & Artitsts
- Boston College: Aerial Views
- Boston College: Dramatics Society
- Boston College: The First Sub Turri
- Burns Library: Exhibitions
- Burns Library: walk through the Irish Collection stacks
- Hogan-Belloc Love Letters
- Loyal National Repeal Association of Ireland
- Norman Castle Holy Card Collection
- Pirate Treasures
- Troubles Thrillers
Contact Information, Hours & Location

If you aren't sure that the Burns Library has what you're looking for or if you'd like to talk to a Burns staff member about special collections and/or archival materials to support your research, then please contact the Burns Reading Room at 617-552-4861 or send an email to burnsref@bc.edu.
Visit the Boston College University Libraries Hours Page to view the Burns Library's hours.
The Burns Library's entrance is located on the North side of the Bapst building, which faces Boston College's main gate on Commonwealth Avenue. Look at this Boston College Chestnut Hill campus map for more detailed information.

Loading...
