This is the "Research & Teaching" page of the "John J. Burns Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

John J. Burns Library   Tags: archives, irish_studies, jesuitica, manuscripts, rare books, university_archives  

Boston College's special collections and rare books, including the University’s Archives, are housed in the Honorable John J. Burns Library, located in the Bapst Library Building, north entrance.
Last Updated: Apr 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/Burns Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Research & Teaching Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

John J. Burns Library Reading Room Forms

When you visit the Reading Room to do research, bring your photo ID with you (license, passport or BC ID) so that you can fill out the Burns Registration Form.  If you plan to take your own photos or ask Burns staff to scan and e-mail materials to you, you'll also need to fill out a Copy Request Form.  Click on the PDF's below to view both of these forms and the Burns Photography Policy.  Please contact the Burns Library Reading Room at 617-552-4861 or burnsref@bc.edu if you have any questions. 

Special Collections Libraries in the Boston Area

Several other special collections libraries in the Boston area house wonderful materials and are also, like the John J. Burns Library, open to the public for research.  Please visit these websites below for more information:

Research in the John J. Burns Library Reading Room

The John J. Burns Library Reading Room is a secure, quiet room reserved for researchers using Burns Library materials. The John J. Burns Library is open to all researchers regardless of academic affiliation. Burns Library Reference staff can be reached during open hours at 617-552-4861 or burnsref@bc.edu.

Burns Library Reading Room

When you arrive at the Burns Library, you'll be asked to sign in at the security desk and then to put your coats and hats, bags, laptop cases, pens, and food or drink in a locker. Ask the security guard for a locker key.

Don't forget to bring your photo ID (BC ID, driver's license or passport) with you into the Reading Room.  You'll need this ID to fill out the Registration Form and your ID will also be held at the Reading Room Desk.  Feel free to bring your laptop into the Reading Room - outlets and a wireless internet connection are available.

If you are interested in making copies of any Burns Library materials for your research purposes, then please consult a Burns Library staff member about your requests. Depending on the copryight status and physical condition of the materials requested, you may either take your own photographs or ask Burns Library staff members to scan and e-mail images to you. Please see our Copy Request Form and Reading Room Photography Policy for more details.

Burns librarians and archivists are available to answer questions, recommend research strategies, and to provide class and individual instruction.  Research requests will be handled as time and the availability of the staff allows.  Contact the Burns Library Reading Room at 617-552-4861 or burnsref@bc.edu to learn more.

      
     

    Helpful Handouts

    These are handouts created for library instruction and other purposes that may prove useful to a wider audience. Please use them as you see fit.

     

    Using Burns Materials in Classes

    Burns Library staff members are available to provide instruction and support for your class, group or campus tour.  Since these sessions are held at the Burns Library, they are tailored to balance your research and teaching needs with the conservation and security of unique Burns materials.

    If you are interested in holding a session for your class or group at the Burns Library, please e-mail the Burns Library Reference Department at burnsref@bc.edu or call us at 617-552-4861.

    For more information, please see the "Using Burns Materials in Classes" document below.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip