Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Social Work: Health & Mental Health

:

Find Journal Articles

This guide was designed to help you get started with research related to health and mental health. The guide includes general reference books, web sites, and recommended journal databases.

Recommended Journal Databases

Where's the Article?

If you search a database and the full article's not there, don't despair.  Look for the "FindIt" button:  or FindIt@BC.  Find It will offer help including:

  1. If BC has the full text in another database, you will be taken to a list of databases for the full text. 
  2. If BC subscribes to the print journal where the article appeared, the Catalog will say Find in Library and you can check which library or libraries may have the year/issue you need and where it is located.
  3. If the article is not available online or in print at BC, use the link to Request the item. We can usually get the article from another library within a few days and email it to you.

Searching PsycInfo

Try a variety of keywords and add them to your search step by step when searching PsycINFO. For example:

  • "generalized anxiety" AND treatment
  • ("generalized anxiety" OR GAD) AND (treatment OR intervention)
  • anxiety AND (treatment OR intervention OR therapy)

Also, try using the additional search options below the main search boxes of the database. Those options allow you to limit by type of study, age group and other factors that might improve your search results. See the tutorial below for a demonstration.

Introduction to some of the advanced functions of PsycINFO.

Produced, edited, narrated and scripted by Jenny Severyn, MS Candidate 2017, Simmons College