Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Student Employment

:

O'Neill Library

Information regarding the student hiring process, job descriptions, application information and supervisor contact information.

Learn more about the O'Neill Library.

To submit an application, please fill out this form. Don't forget to include your resume!   
If you are selected for an interview, you will be contacted by a library staff member. Please note that due to the volume of applications, we are unable to respond to all applicants.  

Job Descriptions and Requirements

Access Services

Collection Maintenance

 

Contributes to collection maintenance activities designed to maintain the general order and presentability of the physical collections. Work activities include assisting patrons, shelving, shelf-reading, re-apportioning, along with other specialized projects. Collection Maintenance staff also play a role in fulfilling requests submitted by faculty, students, and staff and transporting library materials within the three campuses (Chestnut Hill Campus, Brighton Campus, and Newton Campus). Transports are carried out using a BC van, or a pushcart. Excellent customer service and time management skills are required. Knowledge of the Library of Congress Classification System is a plus, but not required.

Minimum/maximum hours: 8-20 hours per week

Staffing hours: 8am - 6pm

 

Circulation Service Desks

 

Assists patrons with a variety of needs, including but not limited to: answering informational questions about the libraries in-person and over the phone, loaning out library materials, processing returns, creating guest accounts, placing item requests, logging transaction and helping patrons locate items in teh stacks. Students interested in this position should have good interpersonal skills. Excellent customer service and time management skills are required. Knowledge of the Library of Congress Classification System is a plus, but not required.

 

Minimum/maximum hours: 8-20 hours per week

Staffing hours: Vary, although the library is open 24 hours for most of the school year.

 

 

Overnight

 

O'Neill Library is open for 24 hours for the majority of the school year. In addition to the duties listed for the Circulation Service Desk position, employees hired for this role are expected to retrieve patron requests, fulfill interlibrary loan requests, transport returns to the sorting areas in preparation for the next working day, and maintain/troubleshoot public technology. Employees will work alongside two full-time library staff members and a security guard. Excellent customer service and time management skills are required. Knowledge of the Library of Congress Classification System is a plus, but not required.

Minimum/maximum hours: 8-20 hours per week

Staffing hours: 11pm - 3am, and 3am - 8am

 

 

 

Reference Desk

Reference Student Assistant

Maintains the reference service and reference collection areas, including the Reference Desk area, the research consultation area, and the reference stacks. Responsibilities include re-shelving reference books; keeping logs of reference materials used; re-stocking supplies; up-keep of the service area; shelf reading; and tasks supporting collection maintenance. Works on special projects as needed. Good communication and interpersonal skills required.

 

Digital Studio

Digital Studio Assistant

Assists and troubleshoots a wide variety of software, hardware, and printing problems for Digital Studio users. Diagnoses network or application problems with Digital Studio workstations, printers, and scanners; reports problems to supervisor or calls the BC Help Center if unable to resolve; monitors all technology equipment for any problems on a daily basis; maintains printers by refilling paper and toner, fixing paper jams. Checks workstations for software updates at the end of each semester and documents the version changes. Takes initiative to learn new software and develop expertise in order to contribute to the Digital Scholarship tutorial series on a semester basis. Participates in workshops and demonstrations hosted in the Digital Studio. Requires minimal supervision when performing these tasks.

Preferred candidates will have experience with some of the software offerings in the Digital Studio, or an eagerness to learn. Good customer service skills required.

Minimum/maximum hours: 6-10 hours per week.

Staffing hours: 9am to 7pm, Monday-Friday. Weekend shifts may become available.

 

Digitization Lab

Digitization Lab Student Assistant

This position consists mostly of postprocessing files (deskewing scans of pages, cropping, etc.), scanning printed materials for online access, and very careful proofing of our work for errors. Other tasks sometimes arise. As some original materials are antique, fragile and require gentle handling, there is no eating or drinking in the Lab. This position requires diligence, careful attention to detail, and some familiarity with Mac- and PC-based software. Skills with Photoshop, spreadsheets, and MS Word preferred.

 

Conservation and Preservation

Conservation and Preservation Assistant

Sew and make coverings for pamphlets and small books; construct protective enclosures for brittle books. Good hand dexterity and attention to detail required.

 

Resource Acquisition and Management

RAM Monographs Acquisitions Assistant

Opens shipments of books, checks them in to the library system which includes basic bibliographic searching.  After checking in, sort and send them to the designated locations. Handles invoices including sending copies to the Accounts Payable department and file the originals.  Other special projects as assigned.

 

RAM Serials Receiving Operator

Sorts incoming serials and other mails for the continuing resources at the mail room, checks in to the library system which includes basic bibliographic searching, reporting missing issues to the supervisor for claim. After checking in, performs physical processing including applying call number labels and inserting anti-theft strips and stamping newspapers  Other special projects as assigned such as updating title labels on the current periodicals shelves and performing serial inventory.

 

RAM Binding Operator

Handles shipping preparation and receiving the bound journals, including updating library records with ANSI holdings in Alma and reporting missing issues to the supervisor for claiming. In addition, updates information and prepares the shipment report in the ABLE system, Some physical processing are including creating bound units, packing and unpacking them from the boxes, checking returned volumes for any damages as well as other irregularities reporting to the supervisor. Also performs serial inventory.

 

Mailroom/Loading Dock

Mailroom/Loading Dock Assistant

Picks up/processes, sorts, and delivers interoffice and campus mail; delivers supplies throughout the library; hand delivers mail to Lake St and other buildings/offices on campus; stocks supplies in the storeroom and cleans when necessary; arranges recycling materials/broken furniture for pick up by facilities staff; covers the loading dock/mailroom (open and close) in staff’s absence.

Contact

Access Services

Paul Bridden, Manager, Circulation & Collection Maintenance Services

paul.bridden@bc.edu

Jacob Reyna, Collection Maintenance Assistant

jacob.reyna@bc.edu

Shannon Reilly, Collection Maintenance Assistant

shannon.reilly@bc.edu

Alison Beattie, Access Services Specialist

alison.beattie@bc.edu

 

Reference Desk

Lopa Williams, Senior Reference & Tech Support Specialist

lopa.williams@bc.edu

 

Digital Studio

Anna Kijas, Senior Digital Scholarship Librarian

anna.kijas@bc.edu

 

Digitization Lab

Naomi Rubin, Digital Imaging Assistant

naomi.rubin@bc.edu

 

Conservation and Preservation

Frances Bates, Conservation and Preservation Specialist

frances.bates@bc.edu

 

Resource Acquisition and Management

Takumi Ohata, Resource Acquisitions Assistant

takumi.ohata@bc.edu

 

Administrative Offices

Shatoya White-Gay, Fiscal and Administrative Specialist

shatoya.gay@bc.edu