Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Irish Music

:

Irish Music Archives Events

Library Research Guide

Irish Music Archives Events

 

Nótaí/Notes: Music and IrelandPiano-Accordion-Girl-by-Lorcan-Vallely

Research Symposium

Co-sponsored by Boston College and NUI Galway

Friday/Saturday, September 22 & 23, 2017

Location: Burns Library & Gasson Hall, Boston College, Chestnut Hill

Info and registration: http://libguides.bc.edu/burns/notai

Image: Piano Accordion Girl by Lorcan Vallely

 

 

Celebrating the Séamus Connolly Collection of Irish Music

Co-sponsored by the Alumni Education Series and the Boston College LibrariesSeamus-Connolly-photograph-by-Bachrach-Studios

Site demo, plus live music by Séamus Connolly, Jimmy and Séamus Noonan, and Shannon and Matt Heaton

Thursday, October 12, 2017

Refreshments 6:00-6:30 p.m.; program 6:30-8:00 p.m.

Location: Cadigan Alumni Center, Boston College, Brighton campus

Registration required ($20)

Info and registration: http://www.bc.edu/alumnied

Image: Bachrach Studios

 

 

Harp Studies: Perspectives on the Irish HarpHarp-Studies-book-cover

An illustrated lecture/recital

by Dr. Sandra Joyce (University of Limerick) and Dr. Helen Lawlor (Dundalk IT)

Wednesday, October 18, 2017, 6:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Location: John J. Burns Library, Boston College, Chestnut Hill

Please register using the Google form for this event.

Info: kate.edrington@bc.edu

Based on their edited collection Harp Studies (Four Courts, 2016), Sandra Joyce (University of Limerick) and Helen Lawlor (Dundalk IT) present a lecture exploring the ways the harp has been viewed and played through the centuries, illustrated by visual imagery and live and recorded musical examples. Lawlor and Joyce draw on new research on the Irish national instrument, showing how its music has been used and interpreted globally as a symbol of Ireland and how it has been reimagined through poetry, song, literature and film. Light refreshments will be served. Seating is limited; please register.

 

 

 

About Irish Music Archives Events

The John J. Burns Library at Boston College sponsors occasional events that relate to the Library's Irish Music Archives. The Irish Music Archives Events Coordinator is Elizabeth Sweeney, Irish Music Librarian. To be added to the Irish Music Archives e-mail list, please send an e-mail to imc@bc.edu.  

More Events

The Boston College Irish Studies Program sponsors ongoing events, including the Gaelic Roots Music, Song, Dance, Workshop, and Lecture Series. See the Irish Studies web site for listings and details.