Skip to main content
Chat With Us

History Research

:

Finding Books & Articles

Scholarly resources in all areas of historical research at Boston College

Find Books at Boston College

BC Library Catalog


 Keyword     Keyword in Subject

Find & Request Books from BC & Beyond

WorldCat Catalog


Books Only   All Formats  

Books Not Available at BC

Members of the BC community can find and obtain books and other materials from beyond BC in several ways:

Core Article Databases

JSTOR is all full-text, and very good for retrospective research in history. But, it does not include all the current scholarship indexed in America: History & Life or Historical Abstracts.

Project MUSE provides full-text access to a large number of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by over 120 of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. In addition, UPCC Book Collections on Project MUSE, launched in January 2012, offer book-length scholarship, fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content. The Project Muse platform allows searching of books and journals in one place.

Historical Abstracts is the corollary index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of World History (Europe, Asia, Middle East, Africa, Latin America), time period coverage from 1450 to the present. Publication coverage is 1955–present.

America: History & Life is the premier index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of United States and Canadian History, time period coverage from prehistory to the present. Publication coverage is 1910–present.

Dissertations and Theses

For additional help

For additional recommendations, contact your subject liaison (Brittany Lehman) at brittany.lehman@bc.edu or schedule an appointment with them.