Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
A collection of reference titles in a number of broad subject areas. Search for dictionary definitions, facts, figures, people, places, dates, and quotations simultaneously or select a subject or title to search.
The second edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam covers all aspects of the Islamic World. Its geographical and historical scope encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all modern Islamic states.
A successor to the Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition, the third edition is an entirely new work, which maintains the comprehensiveness of its predecessor and adds the new scope that includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and attention to Muslim minorities all over the world.
Consists of Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur by Carl Brockelmann and its supplements. Offers bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period. Entries consist of biographical section and list of the author’s works in manuscript and print, with references to secondary literature.
Includes timelines, maps, biographies, articles and entries from major reference sources such as The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture and Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World. Special section on Qurʾanic Studies including concordance and verse locator.