Finding Data/Data Support

This primary source of comprehensive U.S. population and demographic data includes American FactFinder, Quick Facts, Economic Census, Business Patterns and interactive mapping.

Catalog of open access government data, filters by agency, topic, format, geography.

St Louis Fed Financial and Economic Time-Series Database with interest rates, GDP, exchange rates, employment, balance of payments, etc.

Regional economic statistics including GDP by state, state and local area personal income back to 1969. Some data back to 1929.

Interactive data tables for national economic data, industry economic data, international economic data and regional economic data. Important note: Use option button to select historical data.

Joint Economic Committee, by the Council of Economic Advisers. 1998-present. (CEA/JEC)

Links to current and historic census numbers.

Key economic indicators and labor trends including: Consumer Price Index, Current Population Survey (employment, unemployment, earnings), Employment Cost Trends, Local Area Unemployment and Producer Price Index.

Offer support for finding state and city level data.

Open scientific data.

Census Data back to 1850. Number of variables available vary by year. See documentation.

U.S. and international open access data available for charting.

GeoCommons is a public community of GeoIQ users who are building an open repository of data and maps for the world. Link to Dartmouth guide.

International open data often with maps.

Includes World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Education Statistics, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics, Africa Development Indicators, Global Economic Monitor and Millennium Development Goals. Includes mapping and graphing tools.

Click on data at the top.

Europen Union statistics at the national and sub-national level for economics, finance, industry, transportation, the environment and more. Often 10 years of data.

Data archive of open access and restricted data. Includes over cross-national surveys, longitudinal studies, census data and qualitative mixed-method data. Registration is required. Under Access filter select "Available to all registered users for any use".

Yearly data of Total and Economically active population, Employment, Unemployment, Hours of Work, Wages, Labour Cost, Consumer Price Indices, Occupational Injuries, Strikes and Lockouts: 1969-2005.

FAOSTAT provides time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries.

Offers free data and charting with data comparison.

Summary data on foreign investment in U.S. and U.S. investment abroad. Tables by country or by industrial sector. Frequency varies; quarterly or annual.

Terra Populus will integrate the world’s population and environmental data, including
Population censuses and surveys, Land cover information from remote sensing, Climate records from weather stations, Land use records from statistical agencies

Includes World Economic Outlook,
IMF Finance Data along with Direction of Trade.