Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Professor DeRosa

:

Suggested Databases

Possible Databases

Laura Dautzenberg

Research Interests:

  • College persistence for communities of color and the reversal of the achievement gap
  • Education Research Complete
    Education Research Complete covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for a very large number of journals, as well as full text for over one thousand journals. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. This database also includes full text for hundreds of books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference 
    ProQuest Sociology
    ProQuest Sociology gives users access to the full-text of more than 180 journals in sociology and social work. This collection covers the international literature of both disciplines, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.
    PsycINFO 1840-current
    Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The Includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
    Sociological Abstracts
    The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Angela Arzu

Research Interests:

  • Access to higher education in communities of color
  • School to prison pipeline
  • Mass incarceration

Cristina Zubizaretta

Research Interests:

  • LGBTQ Individuals in the Hispanic and Latino Communities
  • Impact of HIV/AIDS in the Hispanic/Latino Communities

Aoyi Yang

Research Interests:

  • Asian-American and International Asian Students who come here for middle school through high school
  • Common factors that affects their psychological well being

Symone Varnado

Research Interests/Area of Focus:

  • Queer studies, Native American and Black Communities

Nancy Yone

Research Interests:

  • Systemic issues that impact Asian American Communities
  • Explore perceived lack of Asian-American Identity

Bibliography of Asian Studies

Contains titles on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. Please note, since 1992, newly published individual monographs are no longer being added to the database.

Sierra Dennehy

Research Interests:

  • Health literacy, access to food, healthcare
  • Refugee resettlement

Anthony Smith

Research Interests:

  • Black Masculinity, Gender, Race and Prison Systems

Shannon Lydon

Research Interests:

  • The role of afterschool programs on improving self-esteem, confidence for girls of color
  • Education Research Complete
    Education Research Complete covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for a very large number of journals, as well as full text for over one thousand journals. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. This database also includes full text for hundreds of books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
  • Black Studies Center
    Black Studies Center brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies, and the Black Literature Index.
  • Black Studies in Video
    Brings together seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. Covers history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
    ProQuest Sociology
    ProQuest Sociology gives users access to the full-text of more than 180 journals in sociology and social work. This collection covers the international literature of both disciplines, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.
    PsycINFO 1840-current
    Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The Includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
    Sociological Abstracts
    The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Mariam Gorbea

Research Interests:

  • Multicultural/Racial families; parent conflict caused by child raising; parent well-being/child well-being 
  • Education Research Complete
    Education Research Complete covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for a very large number of journals, as well as full text for over one thousand journals. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. This database also includes full text for hundreds of books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
    ProQuest Sociology
    ProQuest Sociology gives users access to the full-text of more than 180 journals in sociology and social work. This collection covers the international literature of both disciplines, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.
    PsycINFO 1840-current
    Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The Includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
    Sociological Abstracts
    The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.