Professor Rachel Herz

Key Databases

- PsycINFO 1840-current
  
  Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The Includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.

PsycARTICLES

PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of ads and editorial board lists.

PubMed
(PubMed Help)

PubMed is the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) search tool biomedical literature. It includes bibliographic information from the MEDLINE database, as well as from additional life science journals. PubMed also provides access and links to NCBI's integrated suite of molecular biology databases.

MEDLINE

MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology

Education Research Complete

Education Research Complete covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for a very large number of journals, as well as full text for over one thousand journals. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. This database also includes full text for hundreds of books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.

ERIC

ScienceDirect

Full text access to the large number of journals in many disciplines published by Elsevier
Health Reference Center Academic

A fulltext database that indexes medical journals, consumer health magazines, health newsletters, reference books, referral information, topical overviews, pamphlets, and newspaper articles. Materials indexed: approximately 165 periodicals, six reference books, and over 500 pamphlets; selective indexing for articles in approximately 1500 additional general interest titles; and full text for more than 150 periodicals, all reference books, and all pamphlets.
CogNet
Psychiatry Online
Sociological Abstracts
Academic OneFile

Where is the Article?

If a database search tells you about an article but the full article's not there, don't despair. Look for the "FindIt" button:

Integrated by the BC Libraries into many databases, "Find It" helps you get the article in one of three ways:

If an article cited in one database is available in full text in another online source, there will be a direct link to the full article or, in a few cases, to the journal.
If the journal in which an article appeared is available in hard copy in the BC Libraries, you can request a copy of it. It will be sent to you as a PDF file.
If the article is not available electronically or in hard copy at BC, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan Request, which will bring up a form through which you can ask the Libraries to obtain the article for you (usually within 24 hours) from outside BC.