Skip to main content
Chat With Us

TMNT 7023 Introduction to the New Testament

:

Finding Articles

This guide will provide quick access to important research tools for the study of the New Testament.

Some Noteworthy New Testament Journals

One excellent way to stay informed about current trends in Biblical and/or New Testament scholarship is to peruse, regularly, respected journals in the field. The following are all peer-reviewed, (at least partially) available online, and are representative of truly fine contemporary scholarship.  To browse individual volumes/issues, simply click on the journal's title.

Biblical Interpretation

Biblical Theology Bulletin

Catholic Biblical Quarterly

Interpretation

Journal for the Study of the New Testament

Journal of Biblical Literature

Journal of Early Christian Studies

New Testament Studies

Novum Testamentum

These and many other such publications are available to you - in paper or electronic form - via TML and the Boston College Libraries.

Where's the Article?

If you search a database and the full article's not there, don't despair.  Look for the "FindIt" button:  or FindIt@BC.  Find It will offer help including:

  1. If BC has the full text in another database, you will be taken to a list of databases for the full text. 
  2. If BC subscribes to the print journal where the article appeared, the Catalog will say Find in Library and you can check which library or libraries may have the year/issue you need and where it is located.
  3. If the article is not available online or in print at BC, use the link to Request the item. We can usually get the article from another library within a few days and email it to you.

Essential Databases for New Testament Study

To search for journal articles via keyword, subject, title, etc., requires access to one or more subject databases. These are among the most relevant databases for study of the New Testament.

Searching Scripture Citations Using ATLA's Scriptures Tool

The ATLA Religion Database provides an often-overlooked yet highly effective "Scriptures" tool for locating articles on specific Biblical texts. This short video (below) will demonstrate its proper use.

Searching Scripture Citations Using ATLA's Scripture Citations Index

The ATLA Religion Database also provides an option for locating relevant articles by using the Scripture Citations Index. The short video (below) will demonstrate its proper use.