Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Government Documents Portal

:

Building the Research Collection

This guide describes BC's status in the Federal Depository Library Program and introduces major federal government document resources.

Government Documents

Boston College is  a member of the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP), which is a partnership between the Government Publishing Office (GPO) and various Congressionally designated libraries around the country.  As such, BC Libraries provides access to government publications for both the university community and the constituents of the 4th Congressional District.

E-books for Government Documents

Government Documents, including books, are made available digitally. Many historical government documents may be found in databases such as HathiTrust.  Full text of hearings, formerly collected as print volumes, are now available via ProQuest Congressional  from 1824 - present.  Reference resources, including Statistical Abstract of the United States, is available electronically.  

For more information on the Library’s e-book selection, see Selection Criteria and the E-Books at Boston College guide. The Library is conscious that the e-book industry is rapidly changing and, as a result, that our policies and selection criteria regarding e-books will inevitably evolve. The Library is interested in your views on e-books, and especially your usage of them.

Key Government Documents Databases

Government Documents Collection Emphases

The Government Documents unit of the O'Neill Library was designated a federal selective depository library in 1963.  The collection supports the curriculum and research needs of Boston College and the Fourth Congressional District. 

The Government Documents collection is largely a digital collection with select materials in print and microfiche. Primary collection areas include: education; health; vital statistics; demography and population; Congress; industry and commerce; labor and international trade. However, the breadth of government documents coverage supports most disciplines.

More on Collections

For more information about how the library collections at Boston College are being developed, go to the Collections page.

Help Us Build the Collections

Please feel free to recommend items for the library collections by e-mailing a Subject Librarian.