Skip to main content
Chat With Us

The Politics of Division: Northern Ireland, 1921–Present

:

Books

This aim of this guide is to support the research needs of students in this class.

Linen Hall and Canon Rogers Collections

The Linen Hall collection represents materials related to the Troubles in Northern Ireland that were collected by the Linen Hall Library in Belfast and acquired by the Burns Library. Try the search below to get a list of over 1000 items related to the conflict in Northern Ireland, many of them representing conflicting political points of view and many are considered "primary sources."

Go to 'Advanced Search' in the Libraries online catalog.  Use the drop-down menu in the 'anywhere in record' field on the left to select "local collection name."  In the blank field on the right type, "Linen Hall" Then click on "Search."

The Canon Rogers collection at the Burns Library also contains materials related to the Troubles in Northern Ireland.  Follow the searching instructions above, but use "Canon Rogers" in the "local collection" name.

Search for Books in the Boston College Libraries

The Boston College Libraries online catalog, provides information about books (as well as videos, DVDs, sound recordings, and other materials) in and from the Libraries.  Enter a term or terms in the search box below and hit 'Go' to identify items about that term and Northern Ireland. 

For example:

  • enter "civil rights" and hit Go for books about civil rights in Northern Ireland
  • enter "politics and government" and hit Go for works about politics and government in Northern Ireland
  • enter biograph? and hit Go for books that are biographies about people from the north of Ireland

Search the online catalog for Books about Northern Ireland:

 


Use the Advanced Search for more search options. 

Irish Bound Pamphlets

The Burns Library holds Irish bound pamphlets.  These bound volumes contain a myraid of publications from the 18th to 20th centuries on topics that include politics and history that someone valued enough to have bound into volumes.  Try the search below to get a list of over 1700 pamphlets related to Ireland.

Go to 'Advanced Search' in the Libraries online catalog.  Use the drop-down menu in the 'anywhere in record' field on the left to select "local collection name."  In the blank field on the right type, "Irish Bound Pamphlet Collection." Then click on "Search."