Skip to main content
Chat With Us

The Politics of Division: Northern Ireland, 1921–Present

:

Find Articles

This aim of this guide is to support the research needs of students in this class.

Finding Articles

Conducting research on an historical topic includes consulting various types of journals. It is possible to locate journal articles by consulting online bibliographic databases or article indexes. See the list to the right of this box for relevant sources.

Local History Journals

The Boston College Libraries hold print copies of Irish local archaeological and historical societies.  The list below links to websites for a selective list of the societies.  The websites list volumes published and tables of contents for each volume.  Search Holmes for the titles to see what print issues may be found in the libraries. Other archaeological, historical journals are indexed by the National Library of Ireland.  See link to 'Sources' below

The Galway Archaeological and Historical Society

Kerry Archaeological and Historical Society

Mallow Archaeological & Historical Society

Sources: a National Library of Ireland Database

Indexes & Abstracts

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) (BC Community Only)
Located in a site called The Web of Knowledge along with the other citation indexes, it indexes authors and subjects, but also indexes by cited authors' names so it is possible to determine who has cited a given author.
British Humanities Index (BC Community Only)
O'Neill Library: Microfilm (1915-1971) (from 1915 to 1938, known as Subject Index to Periodicals.))
An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, BHI indexes over 320 important international humanities journals and weekly magazines, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK and the United States. Coverage: 1962-present.See list of serials indexed .
FRANCIS (BC Community Only)
FRANCIS covers a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities (67%), social sciences (30%), and economics (3%). FRANCIS is strong in religion, the history of art, and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature.
Hayes, Richard J. Sources for the History of Irish Civilisation: Articles in Irish Periodicals. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1970. (Burns Library: Z2034.H35 REF; O'Neill Library: Microforms DA925.H39 1970a)
An index to Irish periodical articles published between 1800 and 1969.

Historical Abstracts; America History and Life (BC Community Only)
Link provides access to two databases, Historical Abstracts and America History and Life. Both databases contain abstracts of articles related to Irish and Irish American historical research. This link brings you to Historical Abstracts.  Once there you can "choose other databases."
Institute of Historical Research
Special features include Reviews in History, reviews covering publications ranging in time from the Middle Ages to date, and History Online with over 40,000 records providing details of books and articles, UK university lecturers, UK current and past research, and evaluated links to web sites and on-line resources.
 
JSTOR (BC Community Only)
Over 50 scholarly journals in the Arts, Sciences, and Humanities. Most JSTOR journals have a moving wall of five years; journals older than five years are available through the service. Choose JSTOR Ireland Collection for specific Irish journals and other material.
Nineteenth Century Masterfile (formerly Poole's Plus) (BC Community Only)
A resource for pre-1920 studies, with over 4 million citations online. Includes Poole's, Stead's, and other multi-title periodical indexes.
PAIS International (BC Community Only)
The PAIS International database is produced by PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service, Inc.). It is a bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Journal articles; books; government documents; statistical compilations; committee reports; directories; serials; reports of public, intergovernmental, and private organizations; and most other forms of printed literature from all over the world are indexed.
Periodicals Index Online (BC Community Only)
Periodicals Index Online is a database of millions of articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.
Periodicals Archive Online (BC Community Only)
Periodicals Archive Online is an archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Project Muse (BC Community Only)
Over 180 Johns Hopkins University Press and otherscholarly publishers' journals. Project Muse covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900 (O'Neill Library: Electronic Information Area (CD-ROM); O'Neill Library: Ref. Index Area (print version))
Indexes 43 major Victorian periodicals covering all subject areas (over 12,000 contributors). The CD-ROM includes the over 2,000 corrections made to the print version during the course of its publication and as a result of recent research.

Subject Guide

Brittany Lehman, Ph.D.'s picture
Brittany Lehman, Ph.D.
Contact:
O'Neill Library 414A

Office hours:
M 1-2 in Fishbowl in Stokes S
W 11-12 in O'Neill 414A
Skype Contact: brittany.lehman@bc.edu
Subjects:History