Researching a Legal Topic

Nexis Uni includes thousands of U.S. and non-U.S. news sources; legal materials: case law, statutes and law reviews; and company/business information. Strength from 1990 to the present. Nexis Uni replaces Lexis-Nexis Academic.

Articles from legal periodicals and citations from law books published since 1908. Includes law reviews, bar association journals, yearbooks, institutes, government publications, and indexing of court decisions.

A legal research database with over 30 separate collections including Law Journal Library, Legal Classics, U.S. Supreme Court Library, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, U.S. Congressional Documents, Treaties and Agreements Library and many others. Additional titles and years are added regularly.

The place to search or browse resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. CQ Press resources include:

- Congress Collection: A data-rich research and reference tool that provides historical analysis of members of Congress, their legislative voting behavior, interest groups, and their interactions in crafting public policy.
- CQ Almanac: Authoritative analysis on the major legislation and actions of congress for each year since 1945. Unique data on the voting patterns of Congress members provide insight into the legislative process and history of the institution. Users can follow the history of a policy issue with the Policy Tracker tool which links reports on the same issue for almost 70 years.
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive: A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
- CQ Magazine: A weekly news magazine featuring in-depth reporting on public policy, politics, congressional legislation, and elections extending back to 1983, including: a complete wrap-up of news on Congress, the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates, and all roll-call votes.
- Politics in America: The ultimate insider's guide to politics with authoritative information on each member of Congress and the district he or she represents.
- Supreme Court Collection: A blend of historical analysis, timely updates and expert commentary of Supreme Court decisions, biographies of justices, institutional history, and the U.S. Constitution. This database also contains extensive data on Court opinions and justice voting behavior that allows for easy quantitative analysis of the Court.
- Voting and Elections Collection: A database of elections data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical materials to help researchers investigate and understand voting and elections in America from 1789-present.

The Issues & Controversies section combines factual analysis and explanations of opposing points of view on a wide variety of topics.

Contains articles from scholarly journals and business periodicals, also company, industry, market research reports, and cases.

Indexes a comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals covering law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.