Skip to main content
Chat With Us

HS 247: Irish Material Culture: 1770-1930

:

Manage Your Research

This guide will provide multidisciplinary resources to support research and documentation for Irish Material Culture

Citation Management Tools Comparison

Feature RefWorks zotero EndNote Web Mendeley
Cost No cost to Boston College students/staff/faculty Free to everyone. No cost to Boston College students/faculty/staff. (Cost included in the Libraries annual subscription to the Web of Science databases.) Free limited version. Versions with more options and storage for a fee.
Ease of Use Easy to use; downloading and installing plugin sometimes requires assistance. Easy to use. Browser compatibility can cause downloading and installation difficulties. Easy to use Easy to use for organizing and collaborating. Importing citation information from Holmes or databses can involve several steps.
Web/Local app & storage Web based app and storage Browser plugin app and internal storage, with cloud backup; standalone app also available. Web based app and storage Web based app and storage
Collaboration Share references and folders with others with RefWorks accts; no group options Many sharing options, including private and public groups, social networking and news feed Share references with others with EndNote Web accounts Many sharing options, including private and public groups, social networking and news feed
Compatibility with BC Libraries Online Databases Directly import references from Holmes and many  BC online databases; or download and import them from the vast majority of the others Zotero automatically senses reference information in Holmes and most databases and web-pages; import with one click. Directly export references ONLY from Web of Knowledge, but can download and import from most other databases Importing from databases and Holmes can involve several steps
Maximum Number of Records per Account No limit No limit (300mb limit for attached file storage) 10,000 No limit (2 GB free storage)
Style Formats/Bibliographies 800+ 1000's 3200+ 1000's
How to create formatted bibliographies Free plugin download-- Write-N-Cite is available both for PC's and Macs Plugin available for MS Word and Open Office Free plugin download-- Cite While You Write is available both for PC's and Macs Plugin for MS Word and Open Office
Link to Full Text You can link to full text articles, PDF files,images, web sites and web resources. The Find It button will open full text articles if they are available Yes, but must be configured to do so. PDF's, docs, and images are automatically downloaded when available. The Find It button will open full text articles if they are available Full text available for many articles in Mendeley database. PDF's, docs, and images are auto-downloaded when available
Browser/system Compatibility Any current browser; current Mac or Windows. Firefox is ideal; Chrome and Safari work. Any current OS, including Linux Any current browser; current Mac or Windows Any current browser or OS, including Linux
Extra Features Extract DOI's from pdf's.

Full text search across all stored sources

Extract DOI's from pdf's.

Full text search across all stored sources

Extract DOI's from pdf's.

PDF Annotation, Cross-platform synching, Full text search, Search across external databases, search stored Mendeley database of 100 million records

Extract DOI's from pdf's.

Advanced Capabilities Library Systems/EZ Proxy support

Open web API

Library Systems/EZ Proxy support

Library Systems/EZ Proxy support Open web API

 

Citation Management Tools

Simplify your Research

Use citation management software to quickly collect and organize citations and automatically format your footnotes and bibliographies.


RefWorks is a website citation manager available to all members of the BC community.

BC RefWorks Guide   |   RefWorks Quick Start Guide (pdf)   |   RefWorks Video Tutorials   |   Refworks Login


Zotero is available for free to anyone as a downloadable plug-in for Firefox, Safari, and Chrome.

BC Zotero Guide    |   Zotero Documentation    |   Download Zotero (free)


EndNote must be purchased directly by an individual, lab, or department.

EndNote User Manual  |   EndNote Video Tutorials   |  Set up EndNote Web Account   |   EndNote Web Login


A limited version of Mendeley is available free to anyone. A paid subscription provides more services.

Mendeley Video Tutorials   |   Mendeley Home Page 

Feature RefWorks zotero EndNote Web Mendeley
Cost No cost to Boston College community - account continues after graduation. Free to everyone. No cost to Boston College community. Free limited version. Versions with more options and storage for a fee.
Features that make it easy

Write-n-cite bibliographic plugin for MS Word

Direct links to import from Holmes and most databases

Link to full-text articles

Share references and folders with other RefWorks account holders

Plugins for MS Word and Libre Office

Automatically senses reference information in Holmes and most databases and web-pages; import with one click.

Many collaboration options, including private and public groups, social networking, and news feed

PDF's, Doc's, images automatically downloaded when available

Share references with others with EndNote Web accounts

Cite While You Write plugin for MS Word

Link to full-text through BC's find-it button

Organizing and collaborating interfaces are intuitive.

Plugins for MS Word and Open Office

Downloadable shared content: millions of full-text articles, and 100 million searchable articles

PDFs, docs, and images downloaded when available

Features that make it complicated

Write-n-Cite plugin downloading can be difficult, depending on OS and MS-word versions.

Standalone version with Safari and Chrome extensions is somewhat less straightforward than the Firefox plugin.
Directly export references ONLY from Web of Knowledge; downloading and importing from other databases is possible but requires extra steps.

Importing from databases and Holmes can involve several steps.

Searchable and downloadable content mostly limited to sciences.

Browser/system Compatibility Any current browser; current Mac or Windows OS.
Firefox is ideal; Chrome and Safari work. No Internet Explorer. Any current OS, including Linux. Any current browser; current Mac or Windows OS
Any current browser or OS, including Linux
Who Owns It ProQuest Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason U. (nonprofit foundation) Thomson-Reuters Elsevier
Maximum Number of Records per Account No limit No limit (300mb limit for attached file storage) 10,000 No limit (2 GB free storage)
Application and Storage Web based app and storage Browser plugin app and internal storage, with cloud backup; standalone app also available. Web based app and storage Web based app and storage