Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Computer Science/IT Portal

:

Building the Research Collection

Starting Point for Computer Science Research

Computer Science/IT

image Mars Exploration Rover

Mars Exploration Rover Mission

More on Collections

For more information about how the library collections at Boston College are being developed, go to the Collections page.

Computer Science Collection Emphases

Current collection strengths focus in the areas of machine learning, the theory of computation, distributed systems, programming languages, and modeling and simulation.
Digital library packages of journals such as IEEE Xplore : IEEE electronic library (IEL) online. 1913-  and ACM Digital Library 1947-  along with conference proceedings  provide a strong  core of current and historical collection supporting Computer Science. 

E-Books for Computer Science

E-books, with their 24/7 availability, are a growing part of the Boston College Libraries Computer Science collection.  While many print books are still purchased, e-book purchases particularly make sense with titles unlikely to be read cover-to-cover, but, instead, read as individual chapters -- much as users read online journal articles.  Reference resources and conference proceedings are now purchased almost exclusively as e-books.

A key e-book collection for this discipline is the Springer Computer Science ebook Library back to 2013. Through Safari Online Learning there is also a library of information technology and software development books available including publishers such as Microsoft and O’Reilly Media  including titles such as the latest Python Cookbook and Building iPhone Apps with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. as the latest Python Cookbook and Building iPhone Apps with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. 

For more information on the Library’s e-book selection, see Selection Criteria and the E-Books at Boston College guide. We are conscious that the e-book industry is rapidly changing and, as a result, that our policies and selection criteria regarding e-books will inevitably evolve. We are interested in your views on e-books, and especially your usage of them.