Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Congressional Publications

:

Congressional Papers at Burns Library

Introduction and guide to publications and records of the U.S. Congress, including legislation, Congressional Record, Committee Hearings and Reports and more.

Special Collection at Burns Library

The Burns Library provides access to Boston College's archives and special collections.  These collections include the papers of several United States Congressmen. Use the link below to learn more about visiting Burns Library to access the material. 

Robert F. Drinan, SJ

portrait of Robert Drinan, S.J.

from the U.S. House of Representatives

These two groups of Robert F. Drinan papers are composed of correspondence, publications, photographs, audio tapes, videocassettes, artifacts, and other items. Most of the material relates to Drinan's career in Congress, and documents his views on such issues as Watergate, Human Rights, Criminal Law, Soviet Jews, and the Nixon Impeachment hearings. There are also files of House committees, and some records documenting Drinan's tenure at Boston College and Georgetown University.

Edward P. Boland

portrait of Edward P. Boland

 from the U.S. House of Representatives

The collection is composed of correspondence, publications, photographs, audio tapes, videocassettes, newspaper clippings and related materials. The papers document Boland's career in Congress and touch upon various events and issues. Much of the material concerns the 2nd congressional district, especially the cities of Springfield and Chicopee. 

Thomas "Tip" P. O'Neill

  Portrait of Tip O'Neill 

from the U.S. House of Representatives

The collection is composed of correspondence, publications, photographs, audio tapes, videocassettes, artifacts, newspaper clippings, and scrapbooks. Most of the material relates to O'Neill's career in Congress, and documents his views on such issues as the Vietnam War, Watergate, and relations with Ireland. Also includes papers of O'Neill's staff, files of Democratic Committees, and some letters of late twentieth century presidents

Margaret Heckler

portrait of Margaret Heckler

from the U.S. House of Representatives

The collection is composed of correspondence, publications, photographs, audio tapes, newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, artifacts and other items. The papers document Heckler's career in Congress, as well as her tenure as Secretary of the Dept. of Health and Human Services. The Congressional papers include materials relating to the Republican Party and Heckler's Congressional Committee files.