Many tests and measures have been uploaded to Canvas for your convenience! Just go to the Social Work Central page and select the link "Tests and Measures." Clicking the first link, entitled Tests & Measures from the Handbook of Psychiatric Measures, you will find an alphabetical index of PDF versions of many evidence-supported tests. You will need to use the Handbook of Psychiatric Measures at the library to learn more about each test, such as the test's reliability or validity and if you need to contact the author for permission to use the measure.
The tests listed in the books below are measured for their effectiveness for use with specific ethnic groups. The books also consider broader themes of culturally competent assessment. While tests are described and analyzed, you'll need to access the full-text instruments or research articles through the other resources listed in this guide. All print books are located in the Social Work Library.
Measures for Clinical Practice and Research
by Joel Fischer (Editor); Kevin Corcoran (Editor); David W. Springer (Editor)
Call Number: BF176 .F57 2020 v.1 & v. 2
Categorized Index of Instruments
This seminal 2-volume book contains hundreds of the most useful measurement tools for use in clinical practice and in research. All measures are critiqued by the editors, who provide guidance on how to select and score them and the actual measures are wholly reproduced.
Handbook of Psychiatric Measures
by Michael B. First (Editor); Deborah Blacker (Editor); A. John Rush (Editor)
Call Number: RC473 .P78 A46 2008:
Categorized Chapters of Instruments 2008
Call Number: RC473 .P78 A46 2000:
Categorized Chapters of Instruments 2000
This book includes 100 full-text instruments for a wide variety of mental health issues. You will find links to these instruments under the Tests and Measures link in the Social Work Central Canvas Course.
Rating Scales in Mental Health
by Martha Sajatovic; Luis F. Ramirez
Call Number: RC473.P78 S245 2012
This highly regarded compendium describes and analyzes 116 scales arranged in 20 categories, including anxiety, bipolar disorder, depression, eating disorders, geriatrics, psychosis, sexual disorders, substance abuse, and suicide risk.
Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health
by Lee Baer; Mark Blais
Call number: RC473 .P78 H36 2010
Clinically oriented and highly practical, the book is an ideal tool for the busy psychiatrist, clinical psychologist, family physician, or social worker. The full-text of the instruments are reviewed by experts in the field and the authors provide readers references to the empirical literature.
You will find all of these titles in the Tests & Measures section of the Social Work Library: