Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Irish Studies General Reference

:

Archives

General Reference Sources for Irish Studies Research

Online Archives Information

Guides to Archives

Donovan, Brian C. Edwards, David C. British Sources for Irish History, 1485-1641: a Guide to Manuscripts in Local, Regional and Specialized Repositories in England, Scotland and Wales. Dublin: Irish Manuscripts Commission, 1997. This publication is meant to aid researchers of Irish History in finding material that is lacking in Ireland due to the destruction of Irish documents in 1922. (O’Neill Library: DA905.D66 1997)
 
Helferty, Seamus and Raymond Refausse, ed. Directory of Irish Archives. Dublin; Portland, OR: Four Courts Press, 2011. Provides contact information notes on holdings, and any instructions or considerations necessary for using the archive. (Burns Library: CD1101.D57 2011 REF)

Lester, DeeGee. Irish Research: A Guide to Collections in North America, Ireland, and Great Britain. New York: Greenwood Press, c1987. Organized topically around a variety of subjects, including agriculture, history, literature, folklife, British relations, emigration, religion. (O'Neill Library: Ref. DA906.L47x 1987; Burns Library: Z2031. L47 1987 REF)

Nolan, William. Tracing the Past: Sources for Local Studies in the Republic of Ireland. Dublin: Geography Publications, 1982. Emphasizes historical geography and history of the land. Has chapters on the development of administrative units, early descriptions of landscapes (pre-1600), and sources for studying the seventeenth, eighteenth, and nineteenth centuries. (O'Neill Library: DA905.N643 1982; Burns Library: DA905.N643 1982 REF.)

O'Neill, Robert K. Irish Libraries: Archives, Museums & Genealogical Centres. Belfast: Ulster Historical Foundation, 2007. Provides contact information and hours for the repositories, with notes about their special collections. Oriented to the scholar and general researcher. (Burns Library: Z792.5.A1 O54 2007 REFERENCE)