A collection of reference titles in a number of broad subject areas. Search for dictionary definitions, facts, figures, people, places, dates, and quotations simultaneously or select a subject or title to search.
Includes time lines, maps, biographies, articles and entries from major reference sources such as The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture and the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World. Special section on Quranic Studies including concordance and verse locator.
Access to Boston College's subscriptions to Oxford's bibliographies on subjects including African Studies, Atlantic History, Public Health, and Victorian Literature, and more.
Includes entries on African American Studies, Military History, and more.
Premier index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of United States and Canadian History, from prehistory to the present. Coverage is 1910-present.
The Encyclopedia of Early Modern History offers political, social, cultural, and economic information about Europe between the mid-15th to the mid-19th centuries. Historical details about the ideas, inventions, and aspects of daily life during this period are provided as well.
This long-awaited update to the original Dictionary of the History of Ideas is "designed to introduce a general audience to the main ideas and movements of global cultural history from antiquity to the twenty-first century."
Since its first appearance the Directory of Irish Archives has become the standard work for those who need introductory information on archival and manuscript collections in Irish repositories. This expanded new edition includes entries for over 250 institutions and organizations, both public and private, which hold archives and are willing to make them available for research. Contact details, including e-mail and website addresses, opening hours, information on published guides and synopses of collections are provided in each entry. Appendices provide information on organizations that hold archives but which cannot make them accessible and on a variety of related organizations and institutions that can provide expert advice.
The four-volume Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Medieval World provides readers with comprehensive coverage of the medieval world, from the fall of Rome to the European Renaissance, including Western and non-Western cultures and civiliza
Leonardo da Vinci, Machiavelle, Cesare Boria, Elizabeth I, Shakespeare, and Juan de Herrera - figures great and small, famous and little known, all contributed to the outpouring of genius known as the Renaissance. This set of volumes treats the full period of the Renaissance, from 1350 to 1650, encompassing Italy and the rest of Europe in the context of the broader world. It contains topical entries and biographies, and alphabetically arranged articles on culture, literature, philosophy, religion, economics, politics, science, and the arts, - revealing how people thought, what they believed and how they lived."