Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Irish History (Irish Studies)

:

Primary Sources

This is a guide to resources in Irish and Irish-American History.

Images

Bobbie Hanvey photograph

Bobbie Hanvey Photographic Archives

Bobbie Hanvey is a photographer living and working in Northern Ireland. The John J. Burns Library of Boston College has more than 50,000 negatives in the Hanvey Archives. The digitized photographs comprise a comprehensive documentation of people and life in the North of Ireland from the 1970s through circa 2007.

Irish Narratives Series

Go to Advanced Search.  Change the "Anywhere in record" drop-down to "Series Title" and search for "Irish Narratives".

Newspapers

For more information, see the Finding Newspapers and Irish News and Newspapers guides.

Guide to Sources on Women's History

Irish Woman DancingResearch Guide from the National Archives of Ireland

Guide to Sources on Women's History

Archives

Personal Narrative Databases

About Primary Sources

Primary sources are materials that provide a historical record for the way life was in the past or how a particular event or movement came to be and unfolded. Examples include first-hand accounts such as those found in diaries, memoirs, letters and newspaper articles. Video and audio recordings of events and government documents provide historical record as well.

Read more about Primary Sources.

The Burns Library is home to rare books, manuscripts, archives and important collections of architectural records, maps, art works, newspapers, photographs, films, prints, artifacts and ephemera. 

Boston College Digital Collections provide access to Boston College rare and unique collections in digitized form.