Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Children's Literature

:

Locating Children's Literature at the ERC

This guide will assist in helping to locate children's literature at Boston College.

Using the Catalog to Locate Books

The Boston College Libraries Catalog, is the database for identifying what titles the Educational Resource Center collection contains.


On the Simple Search screen you can enter a search term(s) which will retrieve results for all of the BC Collections- you may "Refine My Results" by selecting "Educational Resource Center" on the side of the search results page which will narrow the results.  Alternatively, you can select the Advanced Search tab and by specifying "Educational Resource Center" in the Search Scope box, your search will retrieve only those titles held by the ERC.
 

In the Advanced Search you can use the pull down menu to define the search by subject- some useful subject headings for finding children's literature are:

"children's literature", "juvenile fiction", "children's stories", "juvenile poetry", and "folklore".

If you are looking for nonfiction books type a keyword in the search box followed by the second search box with keywords "Juvenile Literature". This will give you results limited to nonfiction.

Also, by choosing Advanced Search you may specify material type. For example, the ERC collection contains other material types such as spoken recordings as well as film and video recordings of many children's literature titles.
 

ERC Collection

The Educational Resource Center (ERC) is located on the ground floor of Campion Hall, the building in which Boston College's Lynch School of Education (LSOE) is housed.  The ERC collects children's books that are relevant to all areas of the K-12 curriculum.  Included is a large collection of both fiction and nonfiction children's literature.  Use the library catalog to check the availability of titles.

Collection Highlight

Book cover entitled Alma and How She Got Her Name

Alma and How She Got Her Name. By Juana Martinez-Neal.
Location: 

Educational Resource Center Stacks   PZ7.1.M3745 Alm 2018

Alma Sofia Esperanza José Pura Candela thinks her name is too long, so her father tells her the story of where it came from.