Skip to Main Content
Chat With Us

Economic Research

:

Polling & Census Data

A guide with important databases, websites, and other resources for economics research

U.S. Public Opinion/Polling Data Sources

Gallup Analytics (BC Login)

Gallup US Daily Tracking Poll tracking economic, wellbeing, and political data collected daily since 2008 on state and MSA (Metropolitan Statistical Area) level;
Gallup World Poll covering economic, social, and well-being data collected since 2005 in 160+ countries since 2005;
Gallup Poll Social Series (GPSS) providing a set of public opinion surveys designed to monitor U.S. adults' views on numerous social, economic, and political topics, such as mood of the nation, world affairs, values and beliefs, consumption habits, crime, lifestyle and etc. from 2001.

 

General Social Survey (BC Login)

​​The GSS gathers data on contemporary American society in order to monitor and explain trends and constants in attitudes, behaviors, and attributes. Hundreds of trends have been tracked since 1972.

 

ICPSR Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (BC Login)

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), an international organization of colleges and universities which provide access to the world's largest archive of computerized social science data in the areas of political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law occurring in over 130 countries.

 

iPoll Databank (Roper) (BC Login)

A full-text retrieval system, produced by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, is a collection of public opinion data from polls conducted by major United States and international polling organizations.

 

Odum Institute

The Odum Institute Archive Dataverse contains social science data curated and archived by the Odum Institute Data Archive at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Some key collections include the primary holdings of the Louis Harris Data Center, the National Network of State Polls, and other Southern-focused public opinion data.

 
Pew Research Center

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. The center conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.

 

Polling the Nations (BC Login)

Polling the Nations is a comprehensive collection of public opinion polls containing the full text of more than 700,000 questions and responses from more than 18,000 surveys and 1,700 polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world. In print format, as American Public Opinion Index (O'Neill Reference & Stacks HM261.A463).

 

Roper iPoll, Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (BC Login)

A collection of United States national public opinion polling data spanning from 1935 to present day. Data is organized at the question level and sourced from major polling institutions including polling research centers, like Gallup and Pew, academic, commercial and news organizations. 

International Public Opinion/Polling Data Sources

Pew Global Indicators database

Since its inception in 2002, Pew Research Center’s Global Attitudes Project has conducted nearly 600,000 interviews in 64 countries. This interactive database provides users with the ability to access key trends on questions ranging from attitudes toward the U.S. to people’s assessments of their own lives and of the current state of the world.

 

Polling the Nations (BC Login)

Polling the Nations is a comprehensive collection of public opinion polls containing the full text of more than 700,000 questions and responses from more than 18,000 surveys and 1,700 polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world. In 1981 print format, as American Public Opinion Index (O'Neill Reference & Stacks HM261.A463).