Skip to Main Content
Chat With Us

Economic Research

:

U.S. Statistical Resources

A guide with important databases, websites, and other resources for economics research

U.S. Statistical Resources

Complete list of U.S. Statistical Agencies data services, provided by the Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology.

Open since 1994, the BRDC provides qualified researchers the opportunity to perform statistical analysis on non-public microdata from the Census Bureau, National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS), Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), and Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA).

Key economic indicators and labor trends including: Consumer Price Index, Current Population Survey (employment, unemployment, earnings), Employment Cost Trends, Local Area Unemployment and Producer Price Index.

Recent and historical census counts (from the Census of Population and Housing), as well as data from the Economic Census, the Census of Governments, the Census of Agriculture and foreign and domestic trade data.

Select topic then format.

Statistical tables and charts from multiple sources in a single interface, aggregating over 610 licensed and public domain datasets provided by over 55 sources, making 16 billion data points accessible within a single interface. Includes IMF data. Note:Java v. 6 or higher recommended. Quick Start Guide.

More than seventy agencies in the United States Federal Government contribute to these statistics organized by topic.Topics range from vital statistics, diseases, medical expenditures and health insurance coverage.

Archive of over 6,000 datasets. Set up MyData account when you first download.

Crime, Disasters, Economy, Education, Energy, Environment, Health, Immigration, Industry, Labor, Language, Lifestyle, Media, Military, Mortality, Religion, Sports, Taxation and Transportation. Footnotes note the years.

A comprehensive census tract-level atlas of children’s outcomes in adulthood using anonymized data covering nearly the entire U.S. population. 

Generate reports, create tables and maps. Includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates.

Index to local, national and international data sources.

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) Data on personal income and earnings, employment, county economic profiles, farm income and production expenses, summaries of economic conditions, etc. for the U.S., states, metropolitan areas, and counties.

Presents historical census data for the United States through the use of interactive maps and reports. Currently provides access to data from 1790 to present at census tract, county, state and national level.

Provides data from more than 80 different sources covering more than 15 years at the state level. Topics include health care, crime, education, employment, energy, government finances, social welfare, transportation and more.

Provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and more.

Summary statistics on the social, political and economic organization of the United States. Compiled from publications and records of various government and private agencies. Earlier additions are available from the Census Bureau.

Federal Reserve

Find archival versions of economic time series data.

St Louis Fed Financial and Economic Time-Series Database with interest rates, GDP, exchange rates, employment, balance of payments, etc.

Map economic data such as employment, unemployment, housing vacancy and health insurance coverage at the state, county and metropolitan statistical areas.

Since 1914, the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System has published statistical information on the U.S. economy and banking industry. FRASER has over 30,000 of these releases from 80 titles, dating 1916-201. Earlier data from the Economic Report of the President back to 1945 in PDF format. Compliment to ALFRED and FRED.

U.S. Surveys

Collection of data on income, labor force, general demographic characteristics. Purpose is evaluate existing federal, state, and local programs to estimate future costs and coverage.

Frequently used U.S. Longitudinal Study beginning in 1968 focusing on changing economic and demographic behavior. Also includes sociological and psychological measures.