Skip to main content

Burns Library Donations

:

Frequently Asked Questions- BC COVID-19 Archive Project

How to donate to Burns Library

Tell us your COVID-19 Story

Who can contribute to the BC COVID-19 archival collection?

All members of the Boston College community can contribute to this project. We welcome content from individuals or groups of BC students, faculty, staff, alumni, parents, and our campus neighbors and local businesses.

What should my submission look like?

There are no guidelines. You may already be keeping a diary, blog, journal, or social media account; composing poetry or music; recording voice memos; corresponding through letters, email, or texts; taking photos, videos, or creating photo-stories or artworks that document your experience. These are some examples of the kinds of materials you can submit. This project might inspire you to start documenting your experiences. Use whatever media enables you to best capture your thoughts, feelings, and observations.

Are there topics I should avoid?

No. This project is about documenting personal experiences so that future generations can learn what you went through, so don’t censor yourself.

I’m a faculty member and I’d like to turn this into an assignment for my students. What do I need to know?

We are so glad you are willing to participate! The most powerful action that you can take in supporting this project is to raise awareness of it, demonstrate to students why primary sources are useful, and encourage--but not require--students to contact us about submitting their projects. Students retain ownership of their work, and the decision to contribute to the archives must be their own.

If you have incorporated COVID-19 into your teaching, we encourage you to contribute your pedagogical experiences, lecture notes, assignments, or adapted syllabi.

What will happen to my submissions?

As part of the submission process, you will be asked to agree to a series of terms, including giving content to Boston College, potential use by others, and management according to Library policies. We will review your submission and then contact you to confirm its acceptance into the archives or to resolve any questions. Accepted donations will be preserved in the archives and cataloged for future research and teaching.

What are University Archives?

Located in Boston College's John J. Burns Library, the University Archives preserves materials that document the decisions guiding Boston College’s growth, the expansion of academic programs and research, student life, and the traditions that bring Eagles together.

How can I submit materials?

The easiest way to submit content is to use our donation form. If your files exceed 10GB, or if you prefer an alternative transfer method, please contact us. Donations of physical material may be mailed to the following address or hand-delivered when our library reopens.

University Archives

John J. Burns Library

Boston College

140 Commonwealth Ave.

Chestnut Hill, MA 02467

Donation Form