ADHS1902 Late Ottoman Empire and Egypt

Welcome

Welcome to the "Geographies of Imperialism: History of Colonization"

For this class, you are exploring the history of empires through the lens of history and theology. Looking at the British and French empires in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA), this course asks students to challenge the concept of the borders both in regards to territorial but also conceptual (ace, gender, sexuality, ethnicity, education, laws, and institutions).

Getting Started with Sources

BC Library Primary Source Handout
This handout is designed to get you started in your primary source analysis.

Primary Source Collections

Art and Heritage

Internet History Sourcebooks Project
Interface and content in English.
This collection includes the text of hundreds of excellent sources spanning from antiquity to the present. The have particularly robust collections in African, East Asian, Indian, Islamic, Jewish, the history of science, women's history, and a growing "global" set.
Open Access.
more...less...
Hosted by Fordham University
National Geographic Resource Library
National Geographic is known for having beautiful, high quality photographs. Here, they have images--photographs, illustrations, and paintings--touching on historically important moments and people, including Suleyman the Magnificent (see left).
qantara: Mediterranean Heritage
The Qantara project, which is part of the Euromed Heritage program, is an excellent resource for the history, culture, geography, and art of the Mediterranean nations. The astrolabe video is a particularly good resource.
Discover Islamic Art
The online Museum with No Frontiers is funded by the European Union and others. It has exquisite photography of Islamic architecture and artifacts from the Mediterranean world and engaging online activities for students.

National Collections

The National Archives
The British government's national archive explores over 1,000 years of history, including its colonial expansion and abuses.
Archives nationales d'outre mer
On-line materials focused on the French colonial empires from the 17th to the 20th centuries.
Turkish Cultural Foundation
This website offers portals into the culture, cuisine and music of Turkey. Each portal offers great images, slideshows and essays.

Maps

David Rumsey Historical Maps collection
The historical map collection has over 48,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials

Global Commodities This link opens in a new window
Focused on 15 significant commodities: Chocolate, Coffee, Cotton, Fur, Oil, Opium, Porcelain, Silver & Gold, Spices, Sugar, Tea, Timber, Tobacco, Wheat, and Wine & Spirits. Each commodity is documented through manuscript materials, maps, posters, paintings, photographs, and rare books, allowing students to explore the origins of the commodity, their first uses, the trade that developed and the ways in which these items were marketed and consumed.
World Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The World Digital Library is a Library of Congress project sponsored by UNESCO. Items in this digital library, including books, manuscripts, photographs, maps and sound recordings, are individually described and searchable in seven languages. Most countries and regions around the world are represented.

Mapwarper step-by-step tutorial
Detailed description of the process of matching a map to its geographical location.

Temporary Box

Class Assessment

History Liaison

Erin Kate Scheopner

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

O'Neill 314

617-552-3457

Subjects: History, Irish Studies

Subject Librarian for Theology

Chris Strauber

E-Mail Me

Schedule an Appointment

Writing Help

Tips for Writing Papers (BC History Department)
A set of guidelines compiled by BC history professors to help you avoid the most common pitfalls of essay writing.
Connors Family Learning Center
The CFLC offers content-area tutoring, writing tutoring, instructional support, and support for learning disabilities to all current B.C. community members.
Your Library Liaison
Schedule an appointment to discuss your bibliography or footnotes.

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

ADHS1902 Late Ottoman Empire and Egypt

Welcome

Welcome to the "Geographies of Imperialism: History of Colonization"

Getting Started with Sources

Primary Source Collections

Art and Heritage

National Collections

Maps

Temporary Box

History Liaison

Subject Librarian for Theology

Chris Strauber

Writing Help