Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Collection Development for Mathematics in the Boston College Libraries

:

Scope and Collecting Emphases

Guide to collection building for mathematics in the Boston College Libraries

Guide to the Mathematics Collections

This collection serves the needs of the Boston College Mathematics Department, as well as math-related needs of researchers and students across campus.  The Mathematics Bibliographer works closely with the faculty library liaison appointed by the department in selection of materials based on user requests, curricular needs and knowledge of the discipline.  The bibliographer acts on purchase requests by faculty and graduate students whenever possible.

Disciplinary Scope and Collecting Emphases

This collection spans all areas of mathematics (QA), particularly as needed to serve curricular needs, however, given the particular focus of departmental research on Algebra, Geometry, and Topology, these are the areas of greatest collecting depth.  Examples of more specific collecting areas within those broader categories include:

  • Algebraic geometry
  • Geometry
  • Number theory
  • Representation theory
  • Topology
  • Algebra
  • Dynamical System

Selection favors materials from high quality scholarly publishers, regardless of country of origin or location of research.  The most important publishers in the field include the American Mathematical Society, Birkhauser/DeGruyter, Cambridge University Press, CRC Press,  Elsevier, the European Mathematical Society, the London Mathematical Society, the Mathematical Association of America,  Oxford University Press, Princeton University Press, Springer, Wiley, World Scientific, and other highly-regarded commercial and scholarly presses.

Collaborative interdisciplinary relationships in collections are seen particularly with Computer Science.