Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Collection Development for Computer Science in the Boston College Libraries

:

Scope and Collecting Emphases

Guide to building collections for Computer Science in the Boston College Libraries

Guide to the Computer Science Collections

This collection serves the needs of the Boston College Computer Science Department, as well as computer science-related needs of researchers and students across campus.  The Computer Science Bibliographer works closely with the faculty library liaison appointed by the department in selection of materials based on user requests, curricular needs and knowledge of the discipline.  The bibliographer acts on purchase requests by faculty and graduate students whenever possible.

Disciplinary Scope and Collecting Emphases

This collection spans all areas of Computer Science (Q 300 - 390, QA 75.5 - 76.95), particularly as needed to serve curricular needs.  However, given the focus of departmental research, the following are the areas of greatest collecting strength:  

  • Data mining
  • Data visualization
  • Distributed algorithms and systems
  • Machine learning
  • Modeling and simulation
  • Natural language processing
  • Programming languages
  • Social and ethical issues in computing
  • Theory of computation

Selection favors materials from high quality scholarly publishers, regardless of country of origin or location of research.  The most important publishers in the field include the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, IEEE, Springer-Verlag, Wiley and others. Digital library packages of journals such as IEEE Xplore : IEEE electronic library (IEL) online. 1913-  and ACM Digital Library 1947-, along with conference proceedings,  provide a strong core of current and historical collections supporting Computer Science.  E-book content in the Springer Computer Science collection, O'Reilly Online Learning and other resources provide monograph and technical books support.

Collaborative interdisciplinary relationships in collecting are seen particularly with Mathematics, as well as with Biology in the area of bioinformatics.  Collaborative relations will expand with with the opening of the Schiller Institute.