Getting Started
This highly selective research guide covers the most useful, current and basic reference sources in Women's Studies and includes a basic list of journals. It is arranged by reference type and includes print, electronic and microform formats.
This guide covers sources professors expect students to consult in researching a paper, gathering data to support a thesis and reviewing the literature on a topic.
One place to start is Blackwell Reference Online, with bibliographic essays on Gender Studies.
Since the purpose of this guide is to facilitate your research and is only part of the research process you are encouraged to contact the Reference Desk staff or the Subject Specialist for Women's Studies, Adeane Bregman (617-552-3136); bregman@bc.edu
Further Help
Women's Studies represents a collaborative endeavor by several departments in the College of Arts and Sciences.
For further help, consult the following Bibliographers and their LibGuides:
Sarah Hogan Sociology and Government Documents
Kwasi Sarkodie-Mensah, Psychology
Kate Silfen Psychology and Social Work
Adeane Bregman, Fine Arts, Women's Studies
Leslie Homzie, History and Political Science
Brendan Rapple Education and Language and Literature
Ken Liss Communication
Liesel Tyson, LGBT Studies
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Guides: Online
- Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000. Scholar's Edition (BC Community Only) Includes primary sources as well as: a dictionary of social movements and organizations; a chronology of U.S. Women's History; and teaching tools with lesson ideas and document-based questions related to the site's document projects.
- A Companion to American Women's History (BC Community Only) Twenty-four original essays by leading scholars on the most critical themes and topics in American women's history.
- A Concise Companion to Feminist Theory (BC Community Only) An introduction to the broad scope of feminist theory representing a range of disciplines, discourses and feminist positions.
- A Companion to Gender Studies (BC Community Only) A series of essays and overviews focusing on "the rich interplay between gender and other markers of social position and (dis)privilege, such as race, class, ethnicity, and nationality."
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Feminism (BC Community Only) This online encyclopedia's subject guide on the philosphical theme of feminism includes 43 articles.
- WSSLINKS Women and Gender Studies Web Sites One of the best sites for researching Women's Studies on the internet. WSS is the Women's Studies Section of American College and Research Libraries, a division of the American Library Association.
- The Handbook of Language and Gender
29 international and interdisciplinary essays examining the interaction of language, gender, and identity for the study of linguistics, anthropology, communication, and women's studies
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Guides: Print
- Women's Studies Encyclopedia (O'Neill Stacks HQ1115.W645 1999) This 3 volume set presents basic information about women from the feminist perspective.
- Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge (O'Neill Reference HQ1115 .R69 2000) This alphabetically arranged multivolume source covers: Ability-education - globalization in volume.1; Education - Health-hypertension in volume 2; Identity politics-publishing in volume 3; and volume 4 covers Quakers-Zionism and the index.
- Encyclopedia of Women's History in America (O'Neill Stacks HQ1410.C85 1996) 500 entries on women's many contributions to life in the United States from colonial times to the present.
- The Routledge Critical Dictionary of Feminism and Postfeminism (O'Neill Reference HQ1115 .R68 2000) An excellent background source of lengthy signed articles with a feminist approach.
- The Dictionary of Feminist Theory (O'Neill Reference HQ1115.H86 1990) Intended to be a broad, cross cultural and international account of contemporary feminist thought presenting its terms and concepts.
- Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary Theory (O'Neill Reference PN98.W64 E53 1997) This unique source is concerned with social, poltical, and intellectural forces that constitute feminism. Covers terminology and concepts from the 1970's used in the U.S. and the U.K.
- Larousse Dictionary of Women (O'Neill Stacks HQ1115.L37x 1996)
- From Suffrage to the Senate : An Encyclopedia of American Women in Politics (O'Neill Reference HQ1236.5.U6 S32 1999) This two volume set is excellent for basic definitions of terms and concepts, biographical background information.
- Encyclopedia of Women in American Politics (O'Neill Reference HQ1236.5.U6 E53 1999) This excellent source features speeches, documents and tables in addition to answering basic questions with additional bibliographical references and indexes.
Bibliographer |
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait