Skip to main content

Theology and Ministry Library

:

About Our Collection

Homepage for the Theology and Ministry Library.

The library's collection of 300,000 volumes is especially strong in biblical studies, Jesuitica, and Catholic theology and history. The TML is also a member library of the Boston Theological Institute Libraries and Resources Network whose libraries' combined collections—to which STM and St. John’s students have full borrowing access-- number nearly 1.5 million volumes in theology and related disciplines.

The Ryan Room

Ryan Room

The TML houses the Creagh Collection of Canon Law and a variety of other materials in the Ryan Room (TML 300) which are available for use in the library only by eligible Boston College Libraries borrowers under the following guidelines:

  • A valid photo ID (Eagle ID, BTI ID, driver’s license) is required
  • A library staff member will retrieve requested items
  • Only one item may be used at a time
  • Items are to be used only in the library's Current Periodicals Reading Room
  • Items must be returned directly to a library staff member

Hours:

10:00 AM – 4:00 PM Monday – Friday
Or by appointment.
Please schedule appointments at least 24 hours in advance.

The TML Collection

The collection at the TML supports the wide range of degree programs offered by the university’s School of Theology and Ministry and by St. John’s Seminary. The TML enjoys a unique relationship with New Testament Abstracts (NTA), which surveys virtually all scholarly literature on the New Testament and related fields. Since NTA donates all reviewed copies of books and journals to the library, TML’s New Testament collection is exceptionally strong. Other areas of particular emphasis include:

  • Hebrew Bible/Old Testament
  • Church history
  • Ethics and moral theology
  • Dogmatic/systematic theology
  • Pastoral and practical theology
  • Patristics
  • Liberation theology
  • Sacraments
  • Spirituality, especially Ignatian spirituality

There is a very strong emphasis on the Catholic and Jesuit traditions, but Protestant scholarship is also collected selectively.

Recommend a Book

Please feel free to recommend items for the Theology collections by e-mailing the Collection Development Librarian, Steve Dalton.