This is the "Home" page of the "Social Work with Older Adults & Families" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

Social Work with Older Adults & Families   Tags: adults, families, gerontology, older, social_work  

This research guide was designed to help you get started with research related to issues that impact older adults and your families. It includes reference books to get you started, journal databases, and selected websites.
Last Updated: Apr 25, 2013 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/swlgerontology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About this Guide

This guide was designed to help you get started with social work research related to older adults and families. It includes encyclopedias with background information, statistical sources, and journal databases.

 

Encyclopedia of Gerontology

The four-volume Encyclopedia of Gerontology is now available online!

 

Featured Titles


 

Getting Started

Look for basic background information:

  • If you are just getting started with your research, and you want to get a general sense of a topic, look through the handbooks, encyclopedias, and websites featured on background information and facts.

 We recommend searching for books when you want to find a broad overview of a topic.

  • Books and book chapters are excellent sources of historical overview on a topic.
  • You can also find several view points on a topic in one collected volume.

 Search for journal articles when:

  • you have an especially narrow or specific topic in mind
  • you want to find source of peer-reviewed publications
  • You need the most current information

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Leslie Homzie
Contact Info
617 552 3234
Social Work Library
Boston College
Send Email
Subjects:
Social Work
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip