Home

      
     Search:
   

 
Statistical Information

These reference books and web sites are excellent sources for statistical information on ethnic and minority groups in the United States.


Facts on the American Indian Population


Facts on the Asian Population


Facts on the Hispanic and Latino Population


Profile of Older Americans 2006


Russel, C. (2002) Racial and ethnic diversity: Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites. Ethic: New Strategist Publications, Inc.
Ref E184.A1R78


Heating, T. (2000) Statistical handbook on racial groups in the United States.
Phoenix: Oryx Press.

Ref E184.A1H417


US Census Bureau: African American Links



 
 

 
About this guide

This research guide is designed to help you get started on your research for social work issues related to diversity and racism. It has suggested reference books with background information, recommended journal databases, and tips for searching for books.

 

 
Background Information

We recommend the following books and websites for giving you ideas for topics to explore, and for giving you a general overview of a topic.


Aguirre, A. (2003) Racial and ethnic diversity in America. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO.

Provides a history of how the USA became a diverse nation, social indicators related to race, key statistics, and a chronology of important events.
Social Work Library Reference E184.A1


Altschiller, D. (2005) Hate crimes. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO.
A chronology of major hate crimes in the United States, a history of hate crime legislation, statistics, and an overview of targeted groups. Also includes a section on the growing problem of hatred expressed on the World Wide Web.
Social Work Library Reference HV6773.52.A74


The Anti-Defamation League
Site of the organization dedicated to stop anti-Semitism. Includes a status report in anti-Semtism in America.

 

Arab-American Institute
The latest news and issues about Arabs in the United States.

 

Chanes, J.A. (2004) Antisemitism. Santa Barbara: ABC Clio.
A psychological overview of antisemitism, a chronology and history, and key documents and statistics.
Social Work Library Reference DS145.C464


Daniels, L.A. (2004) The state of Black America. New York: National Urban Lague.
Features essays and surveys related to affirmative action, African American society, socio-economics, education, technology, religion, and popular culture.
Social Work Library Reference E185.5.N317


Encyclopedia of American Studies
The Encyclopedia of the American Studies is published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and is a free, online resource. It features detailed entrees on different cultures, including: Jewish Americans, African Americans, Hispanic Americans, Europeans, Asian Americans, and Native American cultures.

 

Galens, J., Sheets, A., and Young, R. (2000) Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America. Detroit: Gale.
The history, assimilation, family dynamics, employment, and political participation of minority groups in the United States.
Social Work Library Reference E184.A1G14


Goodley, T.B. (2003) African-American Social Workers and Social Policy. New York: Haworth.
Chapters on the policy implications of child welfare, health care, criminal justice, social security, and other social welfare issues as they impact African American Social Workers and their clients.
Social Work Library Reference HV3181.A374


Matthew, D. (2000) Disabilities sourcebook. Detroit: Omnigraphics.
Includes consumer health information about physical and psychiatric disabilities, adaptive aids, workplace issues, and information about the Americans With Disabilities Act.
Social Work Library Reference HV1553.D544


Min, P.G. (2006) Asian Americans: contemporary trends and issues. London: Pine Forge Press.
Discusses the Chinese, Japanese, Filipinos, Indians, Koreans, Vietnamese, Laotians, and Cambodians and looks at the issues, successes, and obstacles for each of these groups.
Social Work Library Reference E184.A75.A84325


Palmore, E.B. (2005) Encyclopedia of ageism.. Binghamton, NY: Haworth.
This comprehensive encyclopedia features short articles on everything from age discrimination in greeting cards to the arts.
Social Work Library Reference HQ76.25.S748


Pampel, F.C. (2004) Racial profiling. New York: Facts on File.
Includes an overveiw of racial profiling, laws, a chronology, and key court cases that have had an impact on racial profiling.
Social Work Library Reference HV8141.P26


Ponterotto, Joseph G. (2001) Handbook of multicultural counseling. Thousand Oaks: Sage
Covers historical perspectives of multicultural counseling, ethics, counselor roles, research design, and multicultural counseling in different settings.
Social Work Library Reference BF637.C6H3174


Adams, J.W. & Rohring, P.S. (2004) Handbook to service the deaf and hard of hearing. Elsevier: London.
The prevalence of the hard of hearing in the United States, legal issues, and best practices for communicating with deaf people.
Social Work Library Reference HV2545.A33


Stewart, C. (2003) Gay and lesbian issues. Santa Barbara: ABC Clio.
Features a history and chronology of the gay rights movement in the United States. Also includes key legal decisions and outlines major issues that face gays and lesbians in the United States.
Social Work Library Reference HQ76.25.S748


Stewart, C. (2001) Homosexuality and the law. Santa Barbara: ABC Clio.
Dictionary of terms relevant to the gay/lesbian/bisexual community in the United States.
Social Work Library Reference KF4754.5 A68 S74


US Department of Justice: Disability Rights
Includes information about the Americans with Disabilities Act and other disability laws.


Womens' Human Rights Net
Provides information and analysis on womens' human rights and global issues.


Zollinger, J.C. and Stebbins, L.F. (2003) Women and equality in the workplace. Santa Barbara: ABC Clio.
This comprehensive resource includes chapters on progress on equality in the work force, the educational attainment of women, social & legal policies that govern equality. Also includes statistics and a chronology of key events for women.
Social Work Library Reference Hd 6095.G48




 
 

Subject Guide

Kate Silfen

Contact Info:
Kate Silfen
Reference Librarian
Social Work Library
McGuinn Hall Basement
Boston College
617-552-0792
Email Me
View My Website / Blog
View My Other Guides

My Subjects:
social work, psychology

 
Print This Page
Print Entire Guide



Description

  Loading content... please wait