Skip to main content

Social Work Library

:

Alumni Services

Located on the lower ground floor of McGuinn Hall, the Social Work Library supports the teaching and research needs of the Boston College School of Social Work (BCSSW)

Alumni Services Overview

This page has information about the services that the Social Work Library offers to alumni of Boston College. The Social Work Library encourages all alumni to continue to use the Social Work Library during your careers as social workers. You are always welcome to contact us for assistance with your research.

Remote access for BC Alumni

We have arranged for special access to the following databases for BC alumni: 

  • ATLA Religion Databases - essays, book reviews, and journal articles in all disciplines related to theological and religious studies.
  • JSTOR - a collection of thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
  • OECD iLibrary - the online library of the OECD including books, papers, and statistics.
  • Project MUSE - scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from university presses and scholarly societies.
  • RefWorks - a citation management tool.
  • The Vault - career information on a wide variety of industries and specific companies.

Remote access to these databases is available on the Research Resources page of the BC Alumni Community.  Use these instructions to register for access to the Alumni Community portal.

Borrowing Books from Boston College

  • All Boston College alumni are eligible to get an alumni borrowing card.
  • Apply for an alumni borrowing card at the O'Neill circulation desk. Be sure to bring a form of identification with you when you apply for a card.
  • The loan period for alumni borrowers is 28 days with a maximum of two renewals.
  • Alumni borrowing cards allow you to borrow books from all Boston College Libraries except the Law Library.

Free Journal Databases

PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. PubMed is a great source for journal abstracts on psychiatric issues. 

Massachusetts Regional Library System
The Massachusetts Regional Library System offers Massachusetts library card holders access to full-text journal databases under the Research & Articles tab. All you need is a library card from a public library in Massachusetts to access these resources anywhere.

Child Welfare Information Gateway
A searchable website with free research reports, suggested books, and articles.  If the full-text of an article or book chapters is not available, you can request it through the interlibrary service at your local public library.

Visiting the Social Work Library

If you live in the Boston area, you are welcome to visit the Social Work Library during our regular hours. You are warmly encouraged to get help from a social work librarian and to use our online resources at our guest computer. We have a variety of electronic journals and databases that you are welcome to use and access when you visit the Social Work Library.

Free Online Journals and Tools to Locate Open Access Articles

Many online publications provide free access to their content. Three important social work journals that provide full access on the web are:

Journal of Social Work Values & Ethics
This peer-reviewed journal explores the ethical issues that impact social work practice.

The New Social Worker Online Current issue is available online. Articles are geared for new graduates who are looking for career advice.

Social Work & Society Social Work and Society is dedicated to critical analysis of the relationship between social work, social policy, the state and economic forces. It is international in scope and coverage.

Many more Open Access journals of interest to social workers can be found through the Directory of Open Access Journals.

Open Access Button
The website and the Chrome browser plug-in uses the article information you are viewing to search open access sources for an available copy of an article.

Unpaywall
The browser add-on works in Chrome and Firefox. The tool adds an opened lock tab to the right of your browser when it detects that the article you are viewing is openly available.

 

Evidence-Based Practice/Practice Guidelines

These websites feature free information about evidence-based practice, practice guidelines, and systematic reviews:

The Campbell Collaboration
National Guidelines Clearinghouse
SAMSHA's Evidence-Based Practices
Social Programs that Work