Getting Started

      
     Search:
   

 
About This Guide

This research guide covers the most useful, current and basic reference sources used to produce a research paper. It is arranged by reference type, covers French, Italian and Spanish literatures.

The glossary of library terms explains library terms used in this research guide. Since the purpose of this guide is to facilitate your undergraduate research and is only part of the research process you are encouraged to contact the reference staff or me in person or email questions.

The intent is to start you on your library research, A Step-by-Step Guide to Doing Research explains the research process. Additional information and guidance is available from the Subject Specialist for Romance Languages and Literatures, Shari Grove, (617-552-4481; grove@bc.edu).

 

Other Guides

Provides additional resources for your research paper.
 
 

 
Introductions & Overviews

Asor Rosa, Alberto, ed. Letteratura Italiana.Torino: Einaudi, 1982-1991.(O'Neill Reference PQ4037. L457 vols.1-6)
Very useful for its in-depth chapters written by specialists. Covers the entire body of Italian literature and concentrates on the social and cultural background. The last two volumes constitute a very helpful dictionary of literary bio-bibliography.

Bleznick, Donald William. A Sourcebook for Hispanic Literature and Language: A Selected, Annotated Guide to Spanish, Spanish-American and Chicano Bibliography, Literature, Linguistics, Journals and Other Source Materials. 3rd ed. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 1995. (O'Neill Reference Z2695.A2B55 1995)

Cecchi, Emilio, and Natalino Sapegno, eds. Storia della Letteratura Italiana. Milano: Garzanti, 1965-1969. 1-2, 4-9 vols. (O'Neill Reference PQ4037.C32)
This standard resource for Italian literature is valued for its in-depth chapters by scholars specializing in various aspects of each period. A bibliography accompanies each chapter.

Dejeux, Jean. Maghreb : Litteratures de Langue Française. Paris: Arcantere, 1993. (O'Neill Stacks PQ3988.5.N6 D436 1993)

Franco, Jean. Introduction to Spanish-American Literature. 3rd ed. Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 1994. (O'Neill Reference PQ7081.F64 1994)

Jauralde Pou, Pablo. Manual de Investigación Literaria: Guía Bibliográfica Para el Estudio de la Literatura Española. Madrid: Gredos, 1981. (O'Neill Reference Z2691.J38 1981)
Although dated it is a standard comprehensive bibliographic guide to Spanish literature.

Levi, Anthony. Guide to French Literature: 1789 to the Present. Chicago: St. James, 1992. (O'Neill Reference PQ41.L48 1992)

Puppo, Mario. Manuale Critico-Bibliografico per lo Studio della Letteratura Italiana. 4th ed. Torino: Societa Editrice Internazionale, 1994. (O'Neill Stacks PQ4037.P86x 1994)
A comprehensive bibliographic guide to Italian literature.

Smith, Verity, ed. Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature. Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn, 1997. (O'Neill Reference PQ7081.A1 E56 1997)

"Spanish American Literature and Bibliography." Latin America and the Caribbean: A Critical Guide to Research Sources. Paula Covington, ed. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1992. (O'Neill Reference F1408.L3225.1992)

Valdés, Mario J. and Djelal Kadir, eds. Literary Cultures of Latin America : A Comparative History. New York: Oxford UP, 2004. (O'Neill Reference PQ7081.A1 L525 2004) Table of contents
This is the place set to begin your reading of literary culture. Detailed Table of contents , specific indexes, well written introductions to each section and bibliographies make it easier to find material in this comprehensive work. It is published in three volumes: vol. 1 Configurations of literary culture; vol. 2 Institutional modes and cultural modalities; vol. 3 Latin American literary culture: subject to history. This 2004 set updates and follows in the tradition of Literary Currents in Hispanic America by Pedro Henríquez-Ureña. (Cambridge, MA: Harvard UP, 1945). (O'Neill Library Stacks PQ7081.H51)

Woodbridge, Hensley C. Guide to Reference Works for the Study of the Spanish Language and Literature and Spanish American Literature. 2nd ed. New York: MLA, 1997. (O'Neill Reference Z2695.A2W66 1997)
This resource covers and provides resources on word formation, historical syntax, onomastics, sociolinguistics and syntax.

 
 

Subject Librarian

Shari Grove

Contact Info:
Thomas P. O'Neill Jr. Library Room 407
617.552.4481
Email Me
View My Other Guides

My Subjects:
Sociology, Romance Literatures, Latin American Studies, Women's Studies, African and African-American Diaspora Studies

 
Print This Page
Print Entire Guide



Description

  Loading content... please wait