Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
LibGuides @ BC - Kate Silfen

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Kate Silfen
Contact Info:
Kate Silfen
Reference Librarian
Social Work Library
McGuinn Hall Basement
Boston College
617-552-0792

Guides

A Guide to APA Style
by Leslie Homzie, Kate Silfen - Last Updated May 2, 2013
This guide will introduce you to the basics of APA Style, and will point you to additional tools that will help you master this style.
Tags: apa_help, apa_style, social_work_apa
Data Sources for Social Workers
by Leslie Homzie, Kate Silfen - Last Updated Dec 14, 2012
This guide is designed to help social work students find data sources on the web.
Tags: data, social_work, statistics
Holmes Help
by Enid Karr, Barbara Mento, Lori Shemanski, Kate Silfen - Last Updated May 16, 2013
Instructions and suggestions for searching in Holmes, the Boston College Libraries catalog and discovery tool
Human Behavior & the Social Environment
by Leslie Homzie, Kate Silfen - Last Updated May 9, 2013
Research sources & support for students in SW 721: Human Behavior & the Social Environment.
Tags: human_behavior, social_environment, social_work, social_work_research_help
Neuroscience & Cognitive Psychology
by Kate Silfen - Last Updated May 9, 2013
This guide was designed to help you get started with research in neuroscience in both psychology and biology. It has journal databases, reference books, and other recommended resources.
Tags: cognitive_psychology, cognitive_science, neuroscience, psychology
PS 289: Comparative Psychology
by Kate Silfen - Last Updated May 8, 2013
This guide is designed to help you with your response essays.
Tags: psychology animal_behavior
Psychoanalytic Studies
by Jonas Barciauskas, Kate Silfen - Last Updated May 8, 2013
This guide was designed to help students get started with research on psychoanalytic topics.
Tags: psychoanalysis
Psychology
by Kwasi Sarkodie-Mensah, Kate Silfen - Last Updated May 9, 2013
This guide is designed to facilitate access to various types of information in psychology and related areas.
Tags: library_resources, psychology, psychology_research_guide, psychology_research_help
Psychology Portal
by Kate Silfen - Last Updated Feb 25, 2013
Starting Point for Psychology Research
Psychology: Finding Tests & Measures
by Kate Silfen - Last Updated Jan 16, 2013
This guide will help you navigate the sometimes complicated process of findings tests and measures in the field of psychology.
Tags: measures, psychological, psychology, tests, tests
Psychology: Library Resource of the Month
by Kwasi Sarkodie-Mensah, Kate Silfen - Last Updated Mar 27, 2013
This guide highlights library resources relevant to psychology research.
Social Innovation
by Leslie Homzie, Kate Silfen - Last Updated Feb 20, 2013
Social Work Portal
by Leslie Homzie, Kate Silfen - Last Updated May 16, 2013
Starting point for Social Work Research
Social Work Research Planner
by Leslie Homzie, Kate Silfen - Last Updated Jun 27, 2012
This guide will help you choose information sources and give you tips for finding books, journal articles and websites.
Tags: social_work, social_work_help, social_work_research_help
Social Work with Children, Youth, & Families
by Kate Silfen - Last Updated Mar 21, 2013
This guide was designed to help you get started with social work research related to issues for children and their families. You will find books with background information, web sites, statistics, and suggested journal databases.
Tags: child_welfare, children, families, social_work
Social Work: Diversity & Cross-Cultural Issues
by Leslie Homzie, Kate Silfen - Last Updated May 9, 2013
This research guide is designed to help you get started on your research for social work issues related to diversity issues. You will find general books and websites to help you get started, and suggested databases for finding journal articles.
Tags: diversity, multi-culturalism, racism, social_work
Social Work: Evidence-Based Practice
by Kate Silfen - Last Updated Mar 21, 2013
This guide is designed to give you tips for finding evidence-based sources for your research.
Social Work: Finding Tests and Measures
by Kate Silfen - Last Updated Mar 22, 2013
This guide is designed to assist you with steps for finding tests, measures, scales, or questionnaires for your research.
Tags: instruments, measures, psychology, scales, social_work, tests
Social Work: Health & Mental Health
by Kate Silfen - Last Updated Mar 22, 2013
This guide was designed to help you get started with research related to health and mental health. The guide includes general reference books, web sites, and recommended journal databases.
Tags: clinical_social_work, health, mental_health, social_work
Social Work: PhD Student Resources
by Leslie Homzie, Kate Silfen - Last Updated May 10, 2013
This guide was created to help GSSW doctoral students take advantage of library resources.
Tags: guide, guide, social_work, social_work_doctoral, social_work_doctoral_research_help, social_work_phd, social_work_research_doctoral
Social Work: Poverty
by Leslie Homzie, Kate Silfen - Last Updated May 8, 2013
This guide is designed to introduce social work students and faculty members to sources of information on poverty.
Tags: social_work, social_work_poverty
Sociology
by Kate Silfen - Last Updated Apr 17, 2013
This guide covers the main electronic and print resources for Sociology and Anthropology.
Tags: sociology, sociology_research, sociology_research_guide, sociology_research_help
Sociology and Anthropology Portal
by Kate Silfen - Last Updated May 10, 2013
Starting Point for Sociology and Anthropology Portal
Tags: sociology, sociology_research
Sociology Library Resource of the Month
by Kate Silfen - Last Updated Mar 27, 2013
A monthly library resource highlight for the Sociology Department.
Tags: library_resource_of_the_month, sociology
Sociology of Aging
by Kate Silfen - Last Updated Oct 23, 2012
This guide focuses on resources for topics such as health care and financial planning as they relate to aging adults.
Sociology of Sport
by Kate Silfen - Last Updated Jan 31, 2013
This guide provides an overview of resources on the soc of sport, covering a wide range of issues from health to business to race/class/gender concerns.
 
 
Description

  Loading...